We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 3 nights”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat
Ranked #6 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Columbus ,Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great 3 nights”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the Forest Glenn suite and found it to be spacious, comfortable and private. Lots of room with a private deck and entry. Continental breakfast was plentiful with enough left to use for a snack at lunch. Gail and Jim were very helpful and friendly. We took their recommendations as to where to hike and eat (Nourseman, Tall Trees, La Dolce Vita) and found them to be excellent. And you can't beat a long day of fun and then relaxing on the back deck with a cocktail. House is quite new and in a quiet location conveniently between Huntsville and the park. All in all-as perfect as you can get!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gathp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review...we hope to see you again in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic experience staying at the Algonqium Mists with the warm hospitality and attention to detail from Gail and Jim. We were first to stay in the newly opened Forest View Suite. This self contained, separate entrance suite was well appointed and decorated with a King size bed, sitting area, fireplace, kitchenette and separate bathroom. We weren't exactly sure what to expect since there were no photos of the room yet but the suite exceeded all our expectations. The private patio deck area facing the forest provided a relaxing retreat for pre dinner cocktails and an enjoyable breakfast that was prepared before we arrived and was in the kitchenette for us to serve ourselves allowing us to sleep in until whatever time we wanted to. This B&B is fairly new, well maintained and Gail and Jim were the consummate hosts attending to any need. We also ate dinner at the nearby Norseman which was also very good and within conveinient walking distance (about 15 minutes). We would highly recommend this B&B and would like to come back one day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontarioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank You for the lovely review of our new addition The Forest View Bachelor Suite...pictures should be up on our site in the next few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

As part of our ten day trip to Ontario, we stayed for four nights at the Garden View Suite and couldn't have found a better place. We arrived late after a transatlantic flight and it took us just one night in this super-comfortable bed and complete peace and quiet to completely unwind. The room is absolutely beautifully decorated and stocked with everything you need for a long weekend trip. We enjoyed the delicious (and huge) breakfasts and the opportunity to get to know our hosts Gail and Jim better. They gave us great advice on where to go at the park and navigated us through the different dinner options at Huntsville. We really recommend the Italian restaurant "La dolce vita" and the Blackburn's steakhouse, in case you are looking for a great meal.
We had a fantastic time and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: The Garden Room Suite was very private and spacious with lots of storage space for suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thilly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail C, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your review, photos, and restaurant comments. We both enjoyed meeting you and look forward to a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utterson, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I travel around Ontario at least once a month. My husband has some allergies so we have to be careful where we stay. In the last couple of years we have found a few B&Bs that we love. One of them is Algonquin Mist. The rooms are luxurious with a cozy and comfortable atmosphere and are spotless... we'v stayed in them all and love them all.

After many hours in the car, we love that we can go for a hike in the immediate area after we unpack. Then walk down to the Norsemen for a delicious dinner with a little vino and no worries about the drive... we can enjoy a romantic walk back to our luxurious room and I'll say no more.

Teresa & Pedro from Barrie

Room Tip: The Gardenview Suite is great for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night at this B&B on a weekend visit to Muscoga to explore the Algonquin park.
About 12 k from Huntsville in a pleasant rural setting, a large and well equipped and comfortable suite, and hospitable hosts.
Limited local dining options were a minor negative, but overall, an excellent eperience.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank warrnambool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This B&B was a phenomenal surprise. We stayed for three days in the Gardenview room and would have stayed for more if given the opportunity :) We arrived a bit late as we were driving a fair distance. Gail had called us to make sure we were ok and to see if we needed any further directions. When we arrived she had prepared us a cold plate with assorted cheeses and smoked salmon. This was a wonderful touch as we had not eaten in our rush to relax. Gail and Jim made us feel right at home and were able to answer all of our questions about the area. After making us reservations at the beautiful Norseman restaurant (just a few minutes away) and helping us to make skiing reservations, Gail made several phone calls until she found a massage therapist that came to the house for a deep tissue a massage. During that time I enjoyed a glass of wine or two with Jim by the beautifull fireplace. I would highly recommend this beautiful guest house to any couples looking to get away and relax. Thank you both and we look forward to seeing you again.
Trevor & Lissa

Room Tip: "The Gardenview has a beautiful spa bath for two"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We found Algonquin Mist B&B to be a perfect spot for a long weekend getaway. We wanted to escape Toronto for a few days to do some hiking and skiing around Algonquin Park and Huntsville. The Algonquin Mist was an amazing place and at a perfect location, just 3 hours from Toronto and 20 - 30 minutes from Algonquin Park. Hidden Valley Ski area is also just a few minutes away along with various shops in Huntsville.

The room was beautiful - more space than a typical hotel room and it had extra's like an electric fireplace, fridge, wine accessories, TV, movie library, fantastic coffee… everything was quite new as the B+B is only 4 years old.

Gail and Jim went out of their way to make us comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing, and they gave us great suggestions on areas to check out and lent us some snowshoes to trek around. We saw deer and moose nearby, and there's an amazing restaurant the Norsemen just a 10 - 15 minute walk away.

I highly recommend this spot if you're looking for a great B+B experience.

Room Tip: The room layout was excellent with lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
447 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat

Property: Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat
Address: 1080 Walker's Glenn Crescent, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Algonquin Mists Guest Home And Retreat Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing