We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food”

That Little Place by the Lights
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I were shopping in Huntsville and wanted to grab a bite for lunch. We came upon That Little Place by the Lights and there were quite a few customers waiting to be served. We took a chance and ordered meat lasagna and spaghetti. We were not expecting anything special, however,when we took our first bite, we both agreed that the Italian dishes were two of the best we have had. The restaurant is small and you could walk right by it as you peruse the shops on main street. We definitely recommend that you take a break and have a great lunch or dinner -you will not regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodyprue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    157
    44
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, okay service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was really good. Homemade pasta was delicious. The service was fast but could have done with some more smiles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've made a point of visiting this restaurant once a year for about the last six years. It never disappoints. We've had fantastic breakfasts, lunches and dinners each year. Would definately recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julija e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After spending the day on a long motorcycle ride through Algonquin Park and vicinity, we (4 couples) were all very hungry. After watching an episode of You Gotta Eat Here, I decided to call and make a reservation. I had made a reservation for 7:00 but had to change it for 7:30. The restaurant was very accommodating. I would first off recommend making a reservation as showing up without one could end up in disappointment. Our waitress was wonderful and even though it was a busy Saturday night took time to recommend some house specialities. Two couples started off with the Stone Oven Roasted Speck. Wonderful slices of speck (ham) wrapped around mozzarella and broiled. It was served with a delicious roasted tomato sauce and balsamic reduction. We then has the speciality of the night chicken piccata and penne with lamb ragu. Both delicious! The other couples had linguine frutte di mare, lasgana, roasted red pepper soup and pasta and fagoli. There were no complaints. We also had a garden salad with a homemade herb vinaigrette. Again fabulous. The portion were very generous and prices were more than reasonable. This is a cut above most Italian restaurants (I should know I'm Italian). The gelato (also homemade) was exceptional. As good as anything I have had in Italy. The owner even took time to come out and talk to us. Everyone was so grateful to me for finding the restaurant and will definitely make another trip there soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AAAmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian Eatery on downtown Huntsville”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed made from scratch Annie's lasagna along with Italian light beer & homemade chocolate hazelnut gelato
There's a generous serving for the entree served with warm foccacia & spiced olive oil.
Family friendly restaurant with free public parking behind the restaurant so we strolled along the water & downtown Huntsville after our very tasty meal.Fantastico!
This restaurant has been featured on the Food Network's "You Gotta Eat here. We agree.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Little Place by the Lights also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to That Little Place by the Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing