We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and warm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portage Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portage Inn & Cottages
Ranked #9 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming and warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at Portage Inn in Oct 13. Friendly welcome, hospitable staff & owners, local tourism/restaurant info provided, excellent size & comfortable room, excellent breakfasts, lovely views & large garden for walks or relaxation beside the lake. Would recommend & would stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid December, during a major snow fall. The owners and staff were wonderful to deal with. They were were friendly and very helpful. It was nice to find a resort where our small dog was welcome as well. The price was extremely reasonable and included a sumptuous breakfast. If you like the ambience of an old historic inn, you will absolutely love this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papadup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Gorgeous location on Peninsula Lake. Owners Sidney and Nancy were warm and welcoming and very helpful. Sidney gave us a great cart ride through the Autumn colors and a divine boat ride at sunset on their silent solar powered boat. Peaceful reading time out by the lake, amazing stars at night. The great-room is cozy with a huge fireplace and comfy chairs. The help staff friendly, the breakfast yummy. Definitely a 5 star experience and one of the highlights of our 2 week driving trip through Canada and New England in the Fall. Thank you Portage Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this marvelous "home away from home" in July. The hosts, Nancy & Sidney were warm and welcoming showing us the premises and area.Telling us the history of the Inn as well as showing pictures of the old boat and train.

The Inn is fabulous old comfort and charm! From the wide plank floors to the tongue & groove ceiling in the great room to the see through fireplace of stone in the middle!

The bedrooms are well appointed, modern, with cozy quilts and modern bathrooms. Large windows give a gorgeous view of the lake or countryside.

The breakfasts are altered to the guests taste. If you wish to grill for lunch or dinner, They will gladly refrigerate your food.

Nancy and Sidney do every thing in their power to make a guest feel welcome.
The library also contains many of their own literary works.As professional writers the Inn is also used as their studio.

I hope someday to return to this ideal location & feel as much at home as I did in July!

Room Tip: Book well ahead if you can. The rooms fill quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one night (two adults and 2 year old daughter). We really appreciated the owner's (Nancy, Sydney)warm hospitality.The facilities were clean and perfect. Especially, the bathroom with a spa bath was so wonderful!!! And it was a quiet and comfortable place at night. We had a lovely morning breakfast. We'll come back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyoko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here one night after the Thanksgiving weekend. It was a totally enjoyable experience. Nancy, Sydney and Jaqi were very welcoming and in no rush to interrupt a conversation with them. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was beautiful. Our breakfast was delicious (thanks Jaqi) and we were able to sit in the great room and enjoy the wood fire lit just for the two of us. Unfortunately the iffy weather did not allow a little trip on their electric powered pontoon boat. Maybe next time. This is truly what I consider a real country inn.

Room Tip: Possibly requesting rooms with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the cottage the labour day long weekend and upon arrival received a warm welcome from host and owner Nancy. We were a party of 12 so we decided to rent the entire cottage which pleasantly was very comfortable and accommodating for everyone. The owner Sidney was of great assistance in lighting the bonfire even though we called him late at night he still came down to the cottage to give a hand with a smile. It was a perfect break and get together for the entire family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.8 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.4 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portage Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portage Inn & Cottages

Property: Portage Inn & Cottages
Address: 1563 North Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portage Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Portage Inn Bed & Breakfast (1889), owned by authors Nancy and Sidney Kirkpatrick, sits on a beautiful 5 acre waterfront property on Peninsula Lake in Huntsville Muskoka Ontario. Each room has a large full bathroom of its own en-suite. One room has a view of the lake and another has a large jacuzzi tub. Traditional breakfasts are provided but special diets are available upon request. Also on the property is a chalet that sleeps up to 13 with 4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, 2 kitchens and 2 living/dining rooms as well as a Muskoka Room, laundry room and 2 decks looking over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portage Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Inn And Cottages
Portage Inn & Cottages Hotel Huntsville
Portage Inn & Cottages Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing