We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portage Inn & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Knights Inn - Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King William Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$79
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Resort(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$55
$43
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
43
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
4
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 48 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the cottages on the property. They were clean, well appointed, nicely furnished and decorated, equipped with everything we needed. The view of the lake was wonderful. The hosts went out of their way to accomodate us and show us the property and Inn. I would reccomend the Inn for couples and the cottages are great for families. The Inn has a quaint old world charm. It is beautiful in the fall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I recently stayed at the portage inn before heading into the Algonquin backcountry. Our host, Sydney, was helpful and friendly (his wife was out of town). The inn is beautiful, and the large grounds include a tennis court, basketball net, beach volleyball court, as well as water access with available watercraft (kayaks, canoes, sailboat, paddleboat).

Inside, the common Great Room houses a piano, pool table, and huge stone fireplace. There are plenty of books available in the library upstairs.

The rooms have been tastefully renovated and upgraded in an old muskoka style. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had, anywhere. The pancakes were a personal favourite.

I'll absolutely stay here again on my next trip to Huntsville.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaykay20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We arrived at Portage Inn at around 5pm to stay overnight before making our way to Algonquin Provincial Park the next day. Nancy and Sidney, the proprietors, were extremely hospitable making us feel right at home, treating us as if we were one of the family. We spent hours talking to Nancy and Sidney and I played pool with Sidney.

We were treated to a nice breakfast the next morning and Nancy helped us in planning the rest of our weekend trip. Nothing was too difficult for her as she pulled out her laptop to look things up for us as we needed.

It was a great start to our weekend trip which we continued to Algonquin Provincial Park to see the spectacular fall colours. I highly recommend Portage Inn to any traveller and we plan to return later in the year!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a lovely old inn on a winding Muskoka road on Peninsula (Pen) Lake outside of Huntsville. The owners are authors and they are very interesting people with an absorbing book collection, although I really only had time to chat with proprietor Nancy. This family-run operation is nicely situated with lake views, beach right there, lovely rooms, bar/breakfast room all kept in charming period style (the inn dates from the 1800s). The breakfast was lovely and varied with fresh orange juice, eggs, fruit, yogurt, basically everything one could ask for. Price was very reasonable. Their website mentions they donate their inn for use for community/charitable purposes so that says something about the owners--something good. I highly recommend this place for a holiday or business stop-over (I was there on conference, held off-site). Would love to return in the summer or later when the colours turn.

Room Tip: The lakeview room (black and white tuile decor) was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

If you are looking for the perfect place for a restful time a way / a retreat / family reunion / wedding, check out The Portage Inn. This is a beautifully restored 100 + year old inn, with bed and breakfast rooms each with their own bathroom. They also have a two level chalet that can be rented as a whole or upper and lower levels separately.

I stayed with a group of friends in the upper portion of the Chalet. It was the perfect getaway for a few days. I definitely want to stay there for a longer period of time.

The gracious owners/operators Nancy and Sydney Kirkpatrick made the visit even more enjoyable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leanne132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews