We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Nearby Hotels
The Briars Resort & Spa(Jackson's Point)
$198
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Jacksons Point(Jackson's Point)(Great Value!)
$74
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$81
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$63
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$91
$77
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
14
8
7
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
8
7
4
9
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 42 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I booked the whole space for the weekend of our wedding to host our close friends and family. The property is stunning, and the owners have put a lot of energy into the grounds and salt-water swimming pool. The house is a bit mishmash in terms of decoration and not particularly clean, though I would say that it really is quite charming. The jacuzzi, though advertised, was not working and though there was a fire pit, we were instructed that it was against a bylaw to have an outdoor fire. The owner was quite pleasant with us throughout our communications, though she had trouble responding to emails within a reasonable time frame. We were told that we could enjoy an extra night after our festivities to unwind as she didn't have the space booked, which we took her up on. There seemed to have been a misunderstanding about paying for cleaning the space: we spent about 4 hours cleaning the house at the end of the weekend, though she demanded that we pay for a cleaner. It, among a few other things, left a sour taste in my mouth--I ended up feeling that I was nickel and dimed to a ridiculous degree. Each cot was a $35 charge extra. Use of the BBQ was $35 extra. Having someone re-clean the house was $120 extra. We even had to negotiate quite hard to have the heated pool open for use. That, on top of the strenuous rules, made the experience bittersweet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florencebravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast over the past eight years, while visiting family and friends in the area. We recently recently enjoyed a 3 day stay and thought we would take the time to give a review. Our room was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed, bathroom was immaculately clean, breakfast was very tasty, consisted of a choice of bacon and eggs, pancakes, variety of cereals, breads coffee and teas. We really enjoyed the fresh fruit plate every morning. The highlight of our day was waking up to a fresh cup of coffee which we sipped at the pool side or in the garden. The hosts were very hospitable and accomadating, also very knowlegdeable about places to go for dining or pleasure.
We found the front door combination lock system very convenient for going and coming at any hour. We highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking to have an extended stay since there is so much to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racquel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our family of four also stayed at the Whispering Pines while attending a wedding at the Briars - the same weekend as the other review I believe - and I can't believe they are talking about the same place! We found the total experience to be very pleasant and would recommend this B&B to others without hesitation. The house is full of lovely character and charm, and very clean...the dishes/cutlery etc we used were spotless and the food delicious, and very plentiful with lots of options for all tastes. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. The spacious grounds were beautiful and made me wish we had more time to relax and enjoy them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here while attending a wedding at the Briars. House is quite old and decor is a mish-mash of things so nothing seems 'sparkling clean'. Bed was comfortable. Went down to the buffet breakfast but was turned off by dirty cutlery, cups, dishes, etc. and excessive amounts of butter/oils in the food. Hosts never introduced themselves. Was only told 'here's your room'. No info on breakfast, keys (but as others have pointed out, nothing is locked), check out, etc. Perhaps I was there on an off weekend. Was a cheaper alternative to the Briars but don't think I'd go back or recommend to others unless the only requirement is a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We find it difficult to recognize our inn from the negative comments posted in this review. Whispering Pines is a century home, and each guest room is decorated with its own unique theme. Over the ten years we have been in business, we have received numerous compliments on the charm, warmth, and cleanliness of our rooms. This being said, we also pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our establishment. This applies not only to the bedrooms, but also to the dining area where our guests are served breakfast. Our breakfast buffet is invariably well-received, and the dishes we serve do not contain excessive amounts of butter or oil. Everyone who comes to our inn receives a full tour of the facility. However, there are times when guests arrive late and are in a hurry to reach their individual destinations or celebrations. In such unusual circumstances, it may not be possible to offer a complete tour of the inn. The doors to our rooms are equipped with locks and keys are available from the owners with a small refundable deposit. On most weekends, when guests are expected to return late at night, our front door is left open while at other times guests are given an access code to our keyless entry. In either case, our inn has its own security system, enabling the owners to fully monitor any activity around the grounds. This system is important, especially for our winter ice-fishing clientele and their snowmobiles, four-wheelers, and other equipment that may be stored on our premises. Each of our rooms is equipped with a welcome and information sheet which gives a brief overview of the inn, check-in and check-out times, and and the time when breakfast is served. On the other hand, In cases when a single large group has booked into our inn, the serving time is determined by said group. We would also like to note that on occasion, the Whispering Pines Inn is rented in its entirety as a cottage. In this instance, the owners are not present and it is the responsibility of the guests to provide their own breakfast and maintain the cleanliness of the inn throughout their stay.

It is unfortunate that this guest had such a negative experience at Whispering Pines and we hope that this response will set the record straight regarding the critical comments posted on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We traveled to Whispering Pines to spend the weekend. Everything was fabulous, great pool, lots of cozy seating areas, and very kind hosts. The grounds are fabulous and we were given free reign over them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoistOwlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews