We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place ... Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Briars Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this fabulous place for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. They have done a great job to make us feel so welcome; we felt we were being invited into someone's home rather than staying in a big impersonal resort. Their staff, especially the reservation staff, had gone out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The food in their beautiful restaurant is plentiful and, more importantly, of top quality. The room is spacious and elegant. We highly recommend this place and will definitely be back there soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTMChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 501 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

I've been organizing and going to the Briars with a group of girlfriends annually for 9 years now, and we love it. Most of the staff have come to "know us" and it's like a home away from home for us.

We enjoy having a large cottage to ourselves, where we don't have to worry about being loud. We love the food and look forward to every meal. We always indulge in the many wonderful spa treatments, and the many other activities offered.

I've also gone with my boyfriend before, and other times just a few friends. I always have a wonderful time and come home feeling like I've been gone a lot longer then I have because I'm so refreshed and relaxed. I highly recommend.
Angie

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We are a group of 10 to 14 ladies (all friends in our "early" 60's )and we've been going to The Briar's every April for 8 years now. We LUV IT!!! Arrive Friday ... big greeting hub bub in the lobby .. as several only see each other this one time of the year. Get into our cottage "First Tee" ...and it starts and continues right through til noon on Sunday.!!
We have all our meals (breakfasts/dinners) in the Main Lodge. The dinners are FIRST CLASS .. and DELICIOUS ... we have a complete choice of appetizer/entree/dessert from their regular dinner menu ... can't say enough about the quality and the presentation!! Kudos to the Chef and Kitchen Staff!! Our accommodations are WONDERFUL!!
We have a 7 bedroom cottage on the water 's edge (complete with a bathroom in each room). Huge living room .. with french doors opening onto the lake - beautiful view!!! Small fully equipped kitchenette .. complete with coolers filled with ice by the staff .. our organizer, Kae Ferraro of their office has thought of everything for our enjoyment!! Saturday nights after dinner .. the disc jockey begins and we are all up on the dance flloor like "Dancin' Queens" .. along with other groups that are there for the weekend .. it's a blast from the past!! Some of the gals book Spa treatments for Saturday a few months in advance .. because they get busy) ... and it's a perfect place to relax, relieve stress and veg out!! We would not change the place or venue to go anywhere else ... it's considered "Our Place" .. "Our Friends" .. as long as we are vertical and mobile .. we'll be there!! Thanx Briar's Staff !!!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargainbarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

My wife and I found The Briars as a place to visit when we first came to Canada to visit our daughter and her family back in 1981- and we came back many years after that before my wife passed away and I am still visiting every year if I can. I took up golf in my 70s and love to play at their golf course along with being able to relax just about anywhere without feeling as we are crowded. I (and my wife before this) have always been treated extremely well and we enjoyed many wonderful meals, dances and relaxation by either pool. The food is exceptional and now that I am slightly disabled I am given so much help to accommodate my needs.Thank you for giving me so many wonderful holidays. Derrick Lang

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pappa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Briars once again. We have always enjoyed the 'family' owned Inn and have been back many times. The staff are always so friendly and helpful and have always made our stay even more enjoyable. Our family have always enjoyed coming over the years and they now plan to come back with their own families. We have had many friends visit us during our stays and they have always enjoyed the wonderful food, the great surroundings and activites and we have always been able to welcome them as we would in our own home. The Sibbalds are are a wonderful family and have made this place a piece of 'heaven'.
Roger Charlesworth

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogydogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We have been going to the Briars for 29 years and have never had one problem. The staff are so accommodating, the food is excellent and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Will always recommend The Briars to our friends as THE PLACE to go for a relaxing getaway.
Sally Charlesworth

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olliesjcToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

If anyone is interested in a lovely and relaxing weekend away and you live in the GTA - Greater Toronto Area - or parts there of, I would highly recommend a visit to The Briars. For the past several years now, myself and a group of friends have booked our yearly girls weekend away at the Briars. We find it to be a very peaceful place in a lovely setting as it is situated on Lake Simcoe. There is the original manor house that you can stay at but what us girls like best is that there are several private cottages as well. We each have our own bedroom with a 4 piece bath, a large living room to gossip in and to get caught up with each other, while lounging in our PJ's if we wish, a small kitchen with fridge and our own private deck looking out on to the lake. I usually book some spa treatments for the Saturday afternoon, most times a massage and a facial which I love to treat myself to. I find the food to be very good and on Saturday nights there is a dance with a disk jockey who doesn't mind playing our requests, even if some are for disco. So if anyone wants a little weekend escape with some private time for family and or friends I would recommended trying The Briars.
Helen in Oakville

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoAusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jacksons Point
Ramada Jacksons Point
#2 of 2 in Jackson's Point
27 reviews
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
592 reviews
22.0 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Best Western Voyageur Place Hotel
17.7 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#3 of 4 in Newmarket
90 reviews
13.3 mi away
Castleview Inn
Castleview Inn
#1 of 2 in Oro Station
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars Resort & Spa

Address: 55 Hedge Rd, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range: $180 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy hour drive from Toronto, this beautiful all-season resort nestled on the southern shores of Lake Simcoe. Lakeside cottages and guest rooms offer relaxation amidst 200 acres of lush lawns, gardens, and towering trees. This unique property offers a championship golf course, full-service spa and excellent recreational programming. Enjoy traditional and contemporary favourites in our dining room and Drinkwaters Lounge where dishes are skillfully​ prepared for any palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Briars Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Resort & Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing