We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb getaway at a Heritage property in an exquisite location”
Review of The Briars

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Briars
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb getaway at a Heritage property in an exquisite location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff are amazing and bend over backwards to help at all times. The food is fantastic. We have been going to the Briars twice a year for many years (14?) and they have never failed us. Long walks in the woods or by the water, or play golf or swim in their indoor or outdoor pools (2). Have a boat ride on the lake or go fishing. It is all glorious and it does not bet any better than this. The Sibbald family have owned this place for many, many years and it is so very special.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony. Ask if they can upgrade you to a suite if they are not full. All rooms cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akornel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    139
    52
    31
    22
See reviews for
102
200
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have been to the Briar's twice now for business training courses through our company. It is a great place and ideal for smaller conferences of about 15 people or so.

The Briar's is a unique, old-style Ontario cottage country resort and it is charming. I suppose some people would say that's it is dated but I really don't view it that way at all. The rooms are spacious. The little nooks and crannies all over the resort are gems.

And the food is fantastic! I have stayed here for three to five week stretches and never had a bad meal....seriously. The food is exceptional. The service throughout is also second to none.

One neat thing for us is that our training course has evening sessions which are less formal and we hold those up in the tower. It always leads to interesting conversations in a truly unique setting.

The Briar's truly is a gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortyatport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am a regular visitor to the Briars and have just returned from another glorious stay. I have experienced many other resorts of this nature and can say that The Briars is by far the most tranquil, relaxing and rejuvenating spa/resort I have been to. The staff are so accommodating and the services at the spa as well as the food are the are second to none. The rooms and the cottages (I have stayed in many of them) are clean, cozy and very conducive to relaxing and letting your stress fade. If you are looking for a few days away from a hectic schedule where you can sleep in, unwind, receive fabulous spa services, eat the finest meals (at times of your choosing) and lay in the sun and read, then you will not be disappointed in The Briars. I am going back again in April with another group! Can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeslieS574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our whole family was silent on the drive home from The Briars. My husband and I joked that we were all depressed because we had to leave...... The Briars has hit the mark on service, care and comfort. If you have not been here, do yourself a favour and plan a visit. We are already planning our return. It was perfect for our children who felt comfortable roaming the expansive grounds and historic building. There is something for everyone and you will not be disappointed. Food is beautifully prepared with love, the staff is among the best we've ever had.....I can't say enough, really. Sherry, Ricardo.....thank you. And Hugh, Brian....for the bonus chocolate eggs for our daughter! We look forward to our next stay with you!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sunwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I like to check out what Ontario has to offer. A couple of times per year we take off for the weekend and stay at a resort or Inn. Our Spring get-away took us to The Briars at Jackson's point. The Inn has lots of charm and I am sure looks much now like it did when it was built in the early 1900's with the exception of some additions or course. The whole weekend was a little like stepping back in time, which was kinda cool. The attention to detail is pretty amazing - they have thought of everything really. While many hotels close their pools at 10 p.m. the pool area here is open late, and is candle lit for an adult swim only. The food is good and the service outstanding. Our room was simple but clean. There is lots to do on sight at the resort, but if you feel like doing nothing there are lots of cozy places to hide away and read a book or relax.

Room Tip: We just had a basic room and had to walk through the dining area to get to the wing our room was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've been to The Briars three times. Each experience has been exceptional. It is the perfect place for an executive or couple's retreat. It is one of the most romantic and restorative places my wife and I have stayed.

Here's my top ten positives:
1.) The grounds are beautiful, park-like, and spacious on the southern coast of Lake Simcoe
2.) The main building is attractive with a bar, billards room, library, dance hall, and restaurant.
3.) The breakfast, lunch, and dinner are all gourmet and five star B&B quality.
4.) Our room overlooked the lake, had a gas-lit fireplace, and king-size bed. Newly built.
5.) Spa services were professional and high quality (massage therapy was exceptional)
6.) 36 holes of golf and tennis courts were well maintained.
7.) Vegetables served at dinner were from the property's own garden - FRESH.
8.) Two swimming pools: One with children, one for adults only and a large sauna for adults only. No kids running around.
9.) Live music at night on site and a local theater down the road.
10.) Bike rentals are fun to ride on the back country roads.

My Top Five Negatives:
1.) A place only for the summer. Too far north for other seasons, at least for us.
2.) Prices jumped exceptionally high in the 90's, losing its competitive cost. We went to St. Thomas USVI in 2013 for the same cost as the Briars in 1994.
3.) Spider-webs and mosquitoes abound in the bushes and by the lake.
4.) One hour north of Toronto, so a bit of a road trip from the States.
5.) There is a bit of snootiness amongst the staff towards the States.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the villas down the road, situated directly on the lake and across the street fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holybagpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The pool was very nice with only a couple of us swimming. The food was excellent and the accommodation very cosy and quaint. The staff really know how to treat the guests from the servers to the guy who came and lit the log fire whilst we drank coffee and read the paper. Meals were included, the only problem, there was so much good food to eat. This resulted in brisk walks both morning and afternoon. Oh yes, we also took in a visit to the spa for a swedish massage, fabulous. Can defiantly recommend this hotel and will be returning soon

Room Tip: Rooms in the old house are very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
22.0 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Whispering Pines Cottages and Va...
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars

Property: The Briars
Address: 55 Hedge Rd, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing