We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Briars Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a lovely resort! We came for a 70th birthday celebration with 12 adults and 8 children and everything was perfect. I can't tell you how great the food was, but it was second only to the cheerful, helpful staff.

We were in the more distant cottages (beautiful lake views, fantastic fireplace), and therefore used the complementary shuttle service (the weather was awful!) many times. It was always on time, and made wine with dinner possible. The fitness room was fine, and the hot-tub afterwards exquisite.

My only remark is the complete lack of handicapped parking spots. Having recently undergone surgery it would have been nice to have marked spots for parking. Apparently the manager knows about this but won't/hasn't done anything,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grapefruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsResort, Manager at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your special birthday celebration, the great food, staff and cottages. We appreciated your comments that weekend about the handicapped parking and are adding additional by the tower - which should be helpful.
Thank you again,
Bob Law, Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 502 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The Briars offers excellent service and facilities in a collection of accommodations based around a 19th Century Manor House. Still owned by the original, Sibbald, family, the resort has many excellent features. An associated golf course and club will attract many. The fine dining and excellent and very professional staff others. There's a palpable sense of pride amongst a distinctly international staff; all of whom are friendly and helpful. Many recreational opportunities are available, whatever the weather. The pool and exercise areas deserve a special mention. The grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. One minor failing, although a ramp is provided at the main entrance, is a complete absence of parking spaces for the handicapped; a curious omission.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kingstondivepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have been to the Briars many times. I have yet to be disappointed.
Although the Briars is an old resort it is a great place for groups to gather. The food is exceptional and the staff go out of their way to assure your comfort. The price is definitely right and the location is close enough to Toronto so it is fairly easy access. The grounds are wonderful and you seem many miles removed from the hustle and bustle of the big city. We are booked for 2013 and 2014. Need I say more?
Southamptonsis

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southamptonsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this place but never again. The buildings are pretty much dilapitated. The staff are snotty,and have no interest in life whatsoever.They are better described as lathargic,hungover teenyboppers. Our room was musty and dated, not worth the price we paid. The Briars deserves "Motel" status. The restaurant served up cold food and lousy service. I am very surprised at some of the other reviews on here, stating this is a "high class Inn". We never entered the spa, because no one was working in there.The lights were on...but nobody was home.Very disappointing. The pool was shabby and over-run with bratty children. The only comfortable aspect about this dump is the ability to escape to the tiny beach across the street. Atleast it was quiet and had a nice sunset. Dont stay here if you want to unwind....you most likely will end up pulling your hair out with confusion, as the staff cant seem to keep it strait. We were so unsatisfied that we ended our stay a night early and had a much more comfortable sleep at home. We will not recommend this dump ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Brooke,
we are sorry that your experience was so disappointing but glad that you enjoyed the beach. We are proud of our beautiful resort and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you for a great visit in the future.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My spouse and I recently spent a couple of days at this lovely resort. The food was spectacular, great quality and service. Staff were friendly and knowledgible of the area and things to do. We both had a massage at the spa and found it relaxing, clean and the staff were very welcoming. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Super_mangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Thanksgiving weekend was our third stay in the past 1 1/2 years. The room was clean, the furniture very dated, but at least this time it did not smell as bad as at the other times. The best part of our stay is the location of the resort. Food is fairly good when a la carte is available. Buffets, particularly at breakfast are without much variety, not appealing. We had again requested a table by a window but for the third time did not get it (except on the last day after 80% of the other guests had departed). Waiters need to be trained to be attentive not simply taking food orders and delivering them. There is a definite lack of management in the dining room one should expect better at the inflated prices.
We are not sure if we will return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovePV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Each year a group of friends (14 of us) venture to The Briar's for a weekend of sharing and laughter, where we enjoy the Briar's numerous activities, a swim or two, dip in the hot tub, walks/tours on the property and many excellent first class meals. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous, the rooms quaint and clean, and the food is fantastic. I love the Briar's and look forward to each new year.

Room Tip: For large groups "The First Tee" has accommodation for 14 in the one building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gramsat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hello,
We are always so happy to hear that the Weir Social has had another successful getaway here at The Briars. Our repeat guests and groups become like family and we always look forward to having you back. All the best in the upcoming year, and we look forward to seeing you join us again soon.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey, Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jacksons Point
Ramada Jacksons Point
#2 of 2 in Jackson's Point
29 reviews
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
595 reviews
22 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
13.3 mi away
Castleview Inn
Castleview Inn
#1 of 2 in Oro Station
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars Resort & Spa

Address: 55 Hedge Rd, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range: $181 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy hour drive from Toronto, this beautiful all-season resort nestled on the southern shores of Lake Simcoe. Lakeside cottages and guest rooms offer relaxation amidst 200 acres of lush lawns, gardens, and towering trees. This unique property offers a championship golf course, full-service spa and excellent recreational programming. Enjoy traditional and contemporary favourites in our dining room and Drinkwaters Lounge where dishes are skillfully​ prepared for any palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Briars Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Resort & Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing