We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service in a distinctive and historic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Briars

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Briars
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attentive service in a distinctive and historic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The Briars offers excellent service and facilities in a collection of accommodations based around a 19th Century Manor House. Still owned by the original, Sibbald, family, the resort has many excellent features. An associated golf course and club will attract many. The fine dining and excellent and very professional staff others. There's a palpable sense of pride amongst a distinctly international staff; all of whom are friendly and helpful. Many recreational opportunities are available, whatever the weather. The pool and exercise areas deserve a special mention. The grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. One minor failing, although a ramp is provided at the main entrance, is a complete absence of parking spaces for the handicapped; a curious omission.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingstondivepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    138
    52
    31
    22
See reviews for
102
199
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have been to the Briars many times. I have yet to be disappointed.
Although the Briars is an old resort it is a great place for groups to gather. The food is exceptional and the staff go out of their way to assure your comfort. The price is definitely right and the location is close enough to Toronto so it is fairly easy access. The grounds are wonderful and you seem many miles removed from the hustle and bustle of the big city. We are booked for 2013 and 2014. Need I say more?
Southamptonsis

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southamptonsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this place but never again. The buildings are pretty much dilapitated. The staff are snotty,and have no interest in life whatsoever.They are better described as lathargic,hungover teenyboppers. Our room was musty and dated, not worth the price we paid. The Briars deserves "Motel" status. The restaurant served up cold food and lousy service. I am very surprised at some of the other reviews on here, stating this is a "high class Inn". We never entered the spa, because no one was working in there.The lights were on...but nobody was home.Very disappointing. The pool was shabby and over-run with bratty children. The only comfortable aspect about this dump is the ability to escape to the tiny beach across the street. Atleast it was quiet and had a nice sunset. Dont stay here if you want to unwind....you most likely will end up pulling your hair out with confusion, as the staff cant seem to keep it strait. We were so unsatisfied that we ended our stay a night early and had a much more comfortable sleep at home. We will not recommend this dump ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Brooke,
we are sorry that your experience was so disappointing but glad that you enjoyed the beach. We are proud of our beautiful resort and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you for a great visit in the future.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My spouse and I recently spent a couple of days at this lovely resort. The food was spectacular, great quality and service. Staff were friendly and knowledgible of the area and things to do. We both had a massage at the spa and found it relaxing, clean and the staff were very welcoming. We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Super_mangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Thanksgiving weekend was our third stay in the past 1 1/2 years. The room was clean, the furniture very dated, but at least this time it did not smell as bad as at the other times. The best part of our stay is the location of the resort. Food is fairly good when a la carte is available. Buffets, particularly at breakfast are without much variety, not appealing. We had again requested a table by a window but for the third time did not get it (except on the last day after 80% of the other guests had departed). Waiters need to be trained to be attentive not simply taking food orders and delivering them. There is a definite lack of management in the dining room one should expect better at the inflated prices.
We are not sure if we will return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovePV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Each year a group of friends (14 of us) venture to The Briar's for a weekend of sharing and laughter, where we enjoy the Briar's numerous activities, a swim or two, dip in the hot tub, walks/tours on the property and many excellent first class meals. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous, the rooms quaint and clean, and the food is fantastic. I love the Briar's and look forward to each new year.

Room Tip: For large groups "The First Tee" has accommodation for 14 in the one building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramsat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello,
We are always so happy to hear that the Weir Social has had another successful getaway here at The Briars. Our repeat guests and groups become like family and we always look forward to having you back. All the best in the upcoming year, and we look forward to seeing you join us again soon.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey, Assistant Manager of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Briars was our chosen destination for our parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary in late September. We booked Friday and Saturday night for them in a cottage on the grounds near the golf course and met them Saturday for golf [parents, my brother and myself] and spa [for our wives] and then held a surprise dinner party for a dozen close friends and family in the Jalna Room where we were able to make a few speeches. The service and food was excellent. The rooms were very nice. My wife and my two girls were treated to the Governor Simcoe Room, a sprawling suite with large living room and two separate bedrooms with their own ensuite bathrooms, all very nice. The staff were amazingly helpful with the myriad of plans and bookings. I highly recommend this beautiful retreat on the shore of Lake Simcoe and look forward to returning again in the future. Andrew C. Toronto, ON.

Room Tip: If you really want to treat yourself, get the Governor Simcoe Suite. Sleeps four with two separated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are happy you gave us the opportunity to host such a special event for your family and happier still with how much you enjoyed your stay. We so look forward to having you join us again.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
22.0 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Whispering Pines Cottages and Va...
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars

Property: The Briars
Address: 55 Hedge Rd, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing