We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Choice for small group training!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Briars Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have taken over 30 groups (20 employees per group) over the last two years to The Briars. The overall experience has been consistently rated by my over 600 attendees as excellent. Specifically noteworthy is the quality and variety of the food, the unique atmosphere and the very friendly and helpful staff. From an organizer's perspective I have been very happy to continue using The Briars because of the attendees high ratings and the value for money that we have received. For me personally the friendly and professional service, flexibility, responsiveness and attention I have received from Brad Young (Conference Manager) have made all arrangements and in session logistics a pleasure. Thanks Brad and The Briars! See you again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerardmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Gerard,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your conference experience with us here at The Briars. We always look forward to hosting your groups and the staff enjoys having you here. We look forward to an ongoing successful relationship and are happy to see you joining us again in a few weeks.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey, Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 502 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having visited the Briars recently as a day guest (spa) and as a past overnight guest, I felt compelled to add my review - especially in response to the negative "Not Worth" post below. The resort itself is storied and full of history (a provincial park nearby is named for the Inn's founding Sibbald family) so yes, it's not as new as some. But it's lovingly maintained and the family makes sure that every guest is satisfied. The Briars (and the Sibbalds) have earned every award and accolade. With regards to the "very busy road" comment from Tyler123, don't be misled: Hedge Road is a two lane, windy country road that serves both locals and visitors. One rarely has to wait for more than one car to pass (at the most) in order to access beautiful Lake Simcoe. The Briars also offers regular boat tours of the homes that grace the shoreline - one more family touch that makes this place so very special for my husband and me and the many guests who return to the Briars generation after generation. It's a special place, indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Roberin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your experiences here at The Briars. We are happy to see that you have such an endearing view of our property and recognize the efforts our staff strives to put forth to make sure each guest feels special. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A rowdy group of 14 "ladies" gather each Spring @ the Briars to relax, unwind and PARTEEE!!
We've been enjoying this resort for 10, yes 10 years ..and it just gets better & better!! The food is absolutely SUPER DELICIOUS.".would put it against any top restaurant in Toronto. Our large 7 bedroom cottage is PERFECT ..overlooking Lake Simcoe ...peaceful & serene. It's our fav get away spot .. Would not trade it for another country inn!! We are very pleased with service, hospitality and friendly staff...FIRST CLASS!!

Mollie1

Room Tip: For 3, 4 or more try to get a cottage on water or golf course .... Cozy .. Clean and you can make al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollie1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Mollie1,

We are so glad to hear that the ladies have enjoyed yet another visit with us. We always look forward to hosting our repeat guests and groups. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us and let us know how we did again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

After attending the Briar's Resort and Spa over many years, our group celebrated our 10th anniversary the weekend of April 27th-29th, 2012. The food never fails to impress us, the accommodations (The First Tee) suits us to a "tee" as there are usually between 12 - 14 of us and with the 7 bedrooms, living room, kitchenette, dining area, and great view of Lake Simcoe, we always have a top-notch weekend. This year was extra special since the hike this year was led by one of the decendents of the original owners of the Briar's. Amazing. Thanks so much for a great time and see you next year.

Room Tip: book early as the resort fills up quickly. Don't miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolscafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Carol,

We are so glad you enjoy the Briars again this past spring and not only had a great time but that we made another new impression on you. We are always happy to see our repeat groups continue to join us and have such a good time together year after year. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family stayed at the Briars for a weekend in the summer time. We had a fabulous cottage on the water. Other friends had one on the golf course. Both were divine. You can stay in main Inn as well and the entire resort is wonderful year round. It was NOT our first time. The resort has been in the Sibbald family for about 150 years. It is charming. In the sumer there are water sports and boat rides or just long walks. The golf course is world-renowned and loved by golfers. You can also fish (need a license if over 18 that you can get at nearby gas station).

The food at the resort is outstanding. It is a great place to take a group or family members to. Wonderful for reunions. MANY get married right on the front lawn and have the recption in the excellent GREAT HALL.

Front desk manager, Bob Law, is terrific. Kae Ferraro is groups manager and does an excellent organizing job.

We usally go in spring or fall but summer was extra special because of all the water sports and outdoor pool. There is an indoor pool for inclement weather year round.

And the spa!!!!!!!!!! This is a world class spa. Book ahead and you will think you have died and gone to heaven.

If you stay in a cottage, there is a fine shuttle service to pick you up on demand, or you can walk t inn for mals or take your car.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. If you need two beds, be sure to specify. If you are a group of 4 or more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you once again for such a lovely glowing review. We look forward to hosting your group each spring and fall, it is always such fun. It was such a pleasure to get to meet your personally this summer during your stay, and we are so glad you visit with your family was as successful as your group visits have been. We look forward to seeing you in a few weeks and of course the years to come. All the very best.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

For the past 3 years, my company has held monthly conferences at the Briars. These conferences usually last anywhere from 3-5 days. I have to say time and time again, the Briars has always exceeded expectations.

The group that we travel with is unique and diverse, and they always leave happy with the service and stuffed full of amazing food. We personally gather reviews from all conference attendees and all ratings have come back 5 stars almost everytime (especially for the food!). The nicest part about the staff at the Briars is how accomodating they are. Each time we go we are with a group of 25 individuals, of which always there are always a few with special dietary needs. With little or no notice, the staff has always been able to provide great options to our party.

As the main point of contact and the organizer for these conferences (on behalf of my company), I have to tip my hat to the conference coordinators. Our company travels monthly to the Briars for our conferences and often things have to be changed right down to the wire; everything from room changes, meal time changes, equipment requirements, space needed, and the number of people attending. I am happy to say that each and every time our conference coordinator (Brad Young) is able to roll with the punches with us and always seems to have things ready the way we need them when we arrive.

I have and would certainly continue to recommend the Briars as both a conference space and a getaway spot. It's quiet, quaint, the service is fantastic, the landscape is beautiful, and the history is rich and worth experiencing.

Thanks to the Briars for always providing a great time, and adding some inches to my waistline (did I mention the food was amazing? - try the bread pudding!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Kate,
Thank you so much for taking some time to let everyone know about your experience with Conferences here at The Briars. We are so happy that you continue to choose us as your venue for your meeting needs. We always look forward to seeing your groups come in and I know Brad takes pride in making sure you have whatever you need. Thank you for your ongoing loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overpriced, mouldy, falling apart, poor facilities.
Dont be fooled by their marketing. Its all an illusion.
For less than 100 dollars/room/night this place might be worth it.
Difficult access to Lake Simcoe. You need to cross a very busy road. Once you DO get there, their lakefront is tiny and overcrowded. Swimming pools small and overcrowded.
Long walk from cottages to dining areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsMarketing, Marketing at The Briars Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Tyler,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately long weekends do result in everything being much busier than some would prefer for their stays, which sadly can spoil a getaway for some who do not enjoy the hustle and bustle. The two lane country road that separates our front lawn from the waterfront is generally very quiet as it is off the main area of town, and rarely riddled with traffic. Again, Labour Day Weekend in the country does get substantially busier. Perhaps you would enjoy your time at a more relaxed time of the year. We would love the opportunity to speak with you in more detail. If you would be willing, please contact Hugh or Bob at 1-800-465-2376.
Yours Truly,
Amanda Grey,
Assistant Manager of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jacksons Point
Ramada Jacksons Point
#2 of 2 in Jackson's Point
28 reviews
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
595 reviews
22 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Best Western Voyageur Place Hotel
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Whispering Pines Cottages and Va...
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars Resort & Spa

Address: 55 Hedge Rd, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range: $182 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy hour drive from Toronto, this beautiful all-season resort nestled on the southern shores of Lake Simcoe. Lakeside cottages and guest rooms offer relaxation amidst 200 acres of lush lawns, gardens, and towering trees. This unique property offers a championship golf course, full-service spa and excellent recreational programming. Enjoy traditional and contemporary favourites in our dining room and Drinkwaters Lounge where dishes are skillfully​ prepared for any palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Briars Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Resort & Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing