We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preparation was key to success...”

Inn On The Twenty Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn On The Twenty Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Jordan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 19th Street
Transit: Unlike an urban property, On The Twenty is not well served by public transportation options. We urge you to consider this issue in planning the conclusion of your evening or event.
Description: On the Twenty restaurant predates the Inn by a number of years and came into being to help contextualize Niagara wines with a regional cuisine - an easy task with the bounty of Niagara all around us for inspiration. Our goal: to make innovative dishes that complement our wines and leave guests wanting "more Niagara".Our dining rooms are intimate in size and overlook the Twenty Valley and a lush perennial garden. The vibrant golden walls are a backdrop to fine Ontario art. The mood is special, but still casual. Our staff love food and wine - to talk about it too: they are our ambassadors!We have a full bar and we serve both Cave Spring wines and those of Ontario wineries we are proud to call colleagues. A limited international list supplements our VQA offerings.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We went on a wine tour as a business group (about 30+ people), so we had a pared down menu. The food was excellent, the service attentive. I had the asparagus and pear soup which was delicious. Next came Ontario trout. The trout was cooked so that it was still moist and delicious. Usually I'm not a fan of cilantro, but I only found it as a light flavour and not overpowering. My complaints were few (the bed of veggies under the trout had one large piece of onion, which wasn't small like the other vegetables and since I hate onion, I found it overpowering and the potato fries were a bit on the salty side). The steamed bread pudding was amazing. Since it was work paid, I unfortunately or fortunately do not know the price... :D. They were able to cater to a large group, due to great preparation. Go for good food, good service, good views. No real downside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AverageLooksGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heleniot20, Manager at Inn On The Twenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Pleased to have helped make a corporate event memorable. We do a lot of company retreat and visioning sessions and getting out of the city contributes to a relaxed and productive work environment. We have a dedicated (in both senses of the word!) Special Event team and they pride themselves on detail management as well as responsiveness during the sessions. Thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Inn On The Twenty Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 440 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

We went here for dinner on a Sunday evening - the restaurant was not very busy. We looked forward to a relaxed dinner. For fun we ordered two of their inventive cocktails (both delicious - especially the one made with St. Germain). Our cocktails arrived and we had barely had two sips when our appetizers arrived and the wine we had ordered to have with the meal. One of the apps was a soup - and so we couldn't delay eating it or it would get cold.

The food itself was delicious and we will return again - but the service was a bit odd, there were at least three different servers and they didn't seem to be at all coordinated. The wine was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Winifred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heleniot20, Manager at Inn On The Twenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

We appreciate the thinking behind this comment. Timing is always a bit subjective and it sounds like we got in the weeds on this table. Glad the meal was appreciated nonetheless. We look forward to correcting this guest's experience on their next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I were married at Cave Spring/On the Twenty four years ago and return occasionally for a romantic dinner. This weekend we had the chance to dine there with two other couples as part of a wine tour weekend. I was uncertain what to expect with a pre-paid for dinner as we had only experienced the a la carte dining options. I needn't have worried! The service was as truly excellent as ever, and we were greeted with special prix fixe menus for our group. We were all served a riesling with the first course, choice of chardonnay or gamay for the main, and indian summer riesling with dessert. We had an outstanding meal, our only regret was that we were so full from visiting 6 wineries that we couldn't finish the feast we were served! Next time we'll have our dinner here the night before our day of touring!

Fresh baguette and sundried tomato bread were brought to the table, followed by our first courses. Choices included a lovely salad with smoked ricotta and cherry belle radish (the only option of the night no one ordered - the other options were just so unique!), grilled shrimp on watermelon with smoked feta and cucumber sorbet (the stand out dish of the evening) and asparagus pear soup (my favorite!). Our choice of mains included a hefty portion of salmon on fingerling potatoes and asparagus, chicken with mustard jus with artichoke leek gratin, or pork loin with green pea spatzel. Finally for desert we enjoyed coffee and tea with our choice of brown butter crepe with maple ices cream and stone fruit, chilled mocha souffle, and strawberry trifle.

Our server was a delight - I didn't catch her name, but she was the embodiment of everything we've come to expect from our experiences with On the Twenty, and provided us with an evening we won't soon forget!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank suffragettecitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heleniot20, Manager at Inn On The Twenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

What fun to tour around with friends....Niagara is great for that. We are honoured to continue to be included for our returning guests: we know there's lots of choice and at twenty years old, we aren't the new kid on the block. But this guest's comments do go to why we continue to be a success and that is very much down to innovative food and really caring staff. Some of our senior servers have been with us since we started and they thrive on the sense of achievement they get from helping people genuinely enjoy themselves....check out the photos, these folks seem to be the epitome of that spirit! Thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a group of 20 for dinner. Setting was great and wine and beer were cold but so was the soup. Chicken was overpriced and undercooked. Children's menu was fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RSW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heleniot20, Manager at Inn On The Twenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

This guest's comments are a great surprise to us since we had a post event conversation with him days after his party in which his only negative food comment was that the strawberries served with his cake plating were not as juicy as he would have liked. We are dismayed to hear, a month after, this assessment being contradicted by the posted comments. Our goal is to make sure that special events are just that: special. We work at all levels from planning to service to billing to make sure the guest is happy; until this review we had no notice of the detailed dissatisfaction and urge the writer to get in touch to pursue it further if he wishes to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We managed to secure an early dinner reservation at this well know restaurant in the Niagara district of Ontario. We were delighted with the variety of fresh product, the setting and excellent service. We chose the lamb and duck as of their recommendation and were impressed.
We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carol1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heleniot20, Manager at Inn On The Twenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We appreciate such a nice review, especially from someone from a great food city like Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn On The Twenty Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inn On The Twenty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing