We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views awful food and slow service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Toronto
Level Contributor
283 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“great views awful food and slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Considering the gorgeous location this restaurant has with great big windows, it was very disappointing that the food and service were very very poor.... the only reason we came here is because Lakehouse, right beside it, was closed due to repairs... big mistake. We ordered some paninis, haddock, sweet potato fries and veal and it took AN HOUR before the food came. What made it worse is that the food tasted like.... microwaved food from a package.... it was extremely bland and tasteless... The bread was good, the sweet potato fries were burnt, the haddock tasted like tilapia, the veal had no taste....I asked for tartar sauce which was supposed to already come with my meal, the waitress brought it to us 15 minutes later as she forgot, and it was mainly just mayo... The waitress was nice enough to discount our bill, but it really is a pity that a place with such a beautiful location has such low standards... will not return until something changes..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your experience was not to your satisfaction, I will pass your comments on to our executive chef to review. We hope you will return to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    162
    179
    138
    101
See reviews for
219
235
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Church Point, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Greetings, I am a traveling business person from Nova Scotia. When I am working in the area this hotel is one of my favorites! I have stayed at the Beacon many of times and I have found the staff very welcoming and friendly. Especially Donna, I have found her very helpful and really cares about her guest! Every morning waking up to a beautiful view of Lake Ontario. Having breakfast watching the swans is always a treat! Love the place, staff and the view!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a
enjoyable stay. We love to hear from our
guests who have had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you
back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for a weekend with a scrapbooking retreat. Crop room was large,had a beautiful view, But had poor lighting. All rooms have a great view of the lake. Donna at the front desk was rude and not helpful. Rooms where not the same as had been booked. Could not switch, no vacancy. Food at restaurant was fabulous. Was surprised there was no elevators. Smelt a little musty, could use some upgrades and TLC. Free wifi had bad signal/reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJewels1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would like to apologize for the issues that
you encountered during your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Let me start with the positives : the dinner service was fantastic, the dinner itself was better than expected. The room was clean and had a fantastic view.

The negatives were the daytime front desk manager, Donna, who was very rude to us on a couple of occasions. Also, the breakfast service was slow and the food not great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lefty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We are saddened to hear of the discomfort you experienced during your
stay with us. Please know your issues have been addressed with the
appropriate department head so that they can be corrected. Please know we
take great pride in providing each guest with a positive and memorable
experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

View is great. Rooms were clean. We had dinner at the main restaurant. Heather, the waitress, was very helpful. Food was good. Had breakfast and the service was dreadful. On checkout, Donna at front desk was rude and dismissive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYSbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed there just before it switched to becoming a Ramada property; so it was a Best Western hotel when we were there. The location is great as it gives you access to Niagara on the Lake and all the theatre stuff and variety of Niagara. The restaurant was really good, food at dinner was great and the view of the marina and boats from the restaurant has got to be one of the best in Ontario (I think it received an award).

Rooms were comfortable, beds, sheets towels all very clean. Problem is that it was probably built back in the 1970s, dark corridors and public areas, the old "earth tones" that were fashionable back then are everywhere and looks pretty tired; need to get a good designer in to upgrade and refresh, bring into the new century. Old beaten up carpeting everywhere needs to be changed.

When we were there we thought BW should invest some money in this place and it could be really great. I guess that is what Ramada has now done; we tried to stay there twice this last summer but it was fully booked. Too bad, we probably had left it too late.

Room Tip: pick a room that faces the marina/lake otherwise you'll be facing the QEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obl1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel is neat, new carpets, nice pool, great views. Nice size rooms.
Now some of the issues. 1. The first room we checked into absolutely stunk. It looked clean and tidy, but man it smelled horrible. I notified reception and they sent some one up and we got changed to a fresh room immediately. (the bad room smelled like a cat had used it) They said they only allowed pets on the bottom floor but maybe some snuck one in.

The lobby was not a peaceful environment. Their was not enough staff on, as a result a noisy phone was not being answered and seemed to change rings as a result of the not answering. Would be a lovely environment to sit except for this issue. The view is fabulous.

The food was good at a special reception we attended, Don Cherry bar lounge drinks were reasonably priced and service was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveyboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jordan
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
5.0 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jordan House Hotel
Jordan House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jordan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
12.0 mi away
Casablanca Winery Inn
Casablanca Winery Inn
#2 of 2 in Grimsby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort

Property: Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort
Address: 2793 Beacon Blvd, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada (Formerly Beacon Harbourside Inn & Suites Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Harbourside Inn And Conference Centre
Best Western Beacon Harbourside Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Jordan
Jordan Best Western
Best Western Jordan
Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing