We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual and unpretentious”

Jordan House Tavern
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Jordan
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casual and unpretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're looking for a casual and unpretentious dinner, this tavern fits the bill. It is a tavern after all. Don't expect gastronomy but if you do expect good quality and tasty dishes, it's hard to beat in the area for value. Prices are reasonable and beer and wine reasonably priced. Service was also friendly After some more formal dinners, this was a welcomed change. The Mac & Cheese for Grown-ups was an indulgence beyond the $11 price point.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boogieboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    73
    23
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

small bar and grill in the jordan area. great place for locals and visitors alike. had the train wreck fries, everything i hoped it would be and more. spicy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillip_allard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Decent place for a casual bite to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this place, it just didn't "wow" me. It's a casual tavern with bar food & a few salads. The atmosphere is nothing spectacular or memorable, nor was the service.
We ordered a mushroom salad & sweet potato fries with some drinks. Everything tasted fine & arrived in good time. Just a typical place to stop & eat; not a destination.
The only complaint we have is that we were charged for a condiment. This was really surprising, as we've never been charged for a side of mayonnaise before! I never appreciate being nickle & dimed, so that's a pretty large turn-off in my books. Even for a mediocre restaurant, I would never have expected this.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlwrldgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Food, awesome service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Food is always great, not a huge menu but everything is so good!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zekepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beamsville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply, old fashioned TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Seriously just poor. Len, where are you? My advice is to completely purge your staff. Terrible service, terrible food. The staff seemed to actually relish how they were failing in absolutely every regard. There was no detail missed in setting the bar lower than you ever knew it could go, even by accident. I honestly don't know how this place stays open. I have a saying... "when fast food isn't fast... what is it? it's s&it food." Embarasing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan House Tavern also viewed

 
Jordan Station, Lincoln
Jordan, Lincoln
 

Been to Jordan House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing