We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Reasonably Priced Accommodations”
Review of Super 8 Kenora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Kenora
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, Reasonably Priced Accommodations”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went to Kenora for a judo tournament and stayed 2 days at this hotel. I've stayed there before and probably will again. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The included breakfast varies from day to day. it is a simple breakfast, no hot food other than boiled eggs or waffles, but it did include yoghurt, 2 types of cereal, different breads and bagels. The hotel shares a parking lot with a Casey's so you don't have to go far for a meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eboutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal B, General Manager at Super 8 Kenora, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I would like to express your kind comments regarding our Super Start Breakfast. I do have to apologize about our breakfast not being consistent each and every day. I have reviewed our standards on our Super Start Breakfast with my staff. We do and are very happy regarding our large vehicle parking that we do have. Hope to see you along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    211
    85
    23
    10
See reviews for
147
90
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Usually Kenora is a stop after way too many hours of driving in no-man's land. This location is so welcoming and often they have soup on and freshly made cookies to welcome you after a long drive...for free!
The do a nice choice of breakfast. The rooms are what you would expect of a Super 8.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal B, General Manager at Super 8 Kenora, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I am so excited to hear that you felt very welcomed, we always try and give each and every guest the "home away from home" experience. Our Super Start breakfast & Soup & cookies are just a couple of our great amenities we offer. Thank you for choosing Super 8 Kenora on your stop through Kenora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just to sleep on our way to Thunder Bay. The hotel is, as others have observed, very clean, though honestly that was most of what it had going for it. There was no one thing wrong with the place, but it's dated, a little run down, and just all around mediocre.

We paid around $130 for the room, which seemed like an awful lot for the cheapest room they had available in off-season. The following night we paid only $10-20 more for a vastly nicer room with a much more comfortable bed, more amenities, and better service. So, I feel the room was overpriced by quite a bit.

Won't be staying here again, though, to be fair, there are not many better options at any price in Kenora so far as I can tell.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank estrempler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal B, General Manager at Super 8 Kenora, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I would love to inform you about our many upgrades we have accomplished in a short period; We have renovated our Breakfast room, new carpet in the hallways (up stairs and down) & stair wells, Brand new flat screens T.V's in all rooms, new beds & some rooms have been freshly painted. Thank you for your comments, as each day we like to hear your feedback as it lets us focus on what and were we need improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly staff. Easy to find location. Unhappy timing -- boil water warning was in effect -- but hotel had posted notices. Booked online through Exp. and could not reschedule--no refunds--so paid twice for one night. I don't know if this is a Super 8 issue or an Exp. issue? Casey's bar and restaurant next door will deliver to the lobby of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeWillyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal B, General Manager at Super 8 Kenora, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Our boil water advisory was on for about a month and was just lifted last week. Thank goodness. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your non-refundable reservation through Expedia; I could look into your reservation for you and see what I could do to help you out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenora hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Kenora
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Kenora
Travelodge Kenora
#7 of 12 in Kenora
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#4 of 12 in Kenora
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kenora
Days Inn Kenora
#5 of 12 in Kenora
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Selah Motel
Selah Motel
#3 of 12 in Kenora
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kenora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kenora

Property: Super 8 Kenora
Address: 240 Lakeview Dr | Highway 17 West, Kenora, Ontario P9N 0H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Kenora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kenora 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Kenora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Kenora Hotel Kenora
Super Eight Kenora
Kenora Super 8
Kenora Super Eight
Super 8 Kenora Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing