We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to many activities....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Kenora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Kenora
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient to many activities....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was nice to stay in, and the staff were nice. The restaurant can be pricey, depending on what you order. Best to go to McDonalds, KFC, A&W across the street if you are on a budget. Very close to the Walmart, Canadian Tire stores. 3 kms to Anicinibe Park which has a really fantastic view and a beach which is free. Not far to get to downtown, or to the harbour front. Can be noisy at night with people slamming doors, and coming in at all hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offspring1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    13
    20
See reviews for
34
14
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel sucks we found ants in our drawers and in our cups.As soon as we opened our room it reeked of smoke and mold. On the web it look amazing but they never showed the shack on the side.plus when we went swimming the pool ,hot tub ,and kiddie pool were dirty and the stair was full of rust. The tv had literally no channels and the chairs had dangerous nails sticking out of them. The floor was so dirty and the sheets were stained.The pool was to warm. And they said they've black bears on their property...ARE YOU KIDDING ME BLACK BEARS?!! The air conditioning sucked and the bathroom was a little under ok.room service was ok I'd sleep in the car! Don't stay here ever they made us pay like 137 bucks and we stayed across the entry it sucked you should pay 20 bucks for this garbage at least I had "shelter"! Drive drive run as fast as you can who cares about the ticket it's worth it!!!!!!! Plz for your own safety!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Listeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherriedays, Owner at Days Inn Kenora, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello there
Thank you for your recent comment regarding your stay at Days Inn kenora. We are in the process of renovating our hotel which includes purchasing new furniture in all our rooms. 15 out of 51 have been completed. I apologize for your terrifiying experience at Days Inn Kenora. We haven't seen a bear on our property for 5 years. We put the posters up because bears are spotted around town in Kenora. It is not that uncommon as you may have noticed deers are quite popular as well. We are a very busy hotel and we strive for the best customer service. Our new 32"inch flat screen tv's are very popular and have many channels to choose from. Again, i apologize for your negative experience.
Sincerely,
Sherrie Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenora hotels

Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent the week in Kenora on business. The Days Inn wasn't my choice, but from what I hear there isn't much to choose from. This hotel is in dire need of an update, but the rooms were clean and comfortable.

The Wifi worked and so did most of the channels. The lady at the front desk was a little rude, but it was late.
Overall, it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RialbTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Picked up Days Inn off the internet because of an overnight stay before we drove up to a fishing camp the next day. The property looked OK on the net and the main attraction was they had a lounge and a restaurant on site.

Arrived in Kenora, found the Days Inn and right away said "oh, oh".. The office had a buzzer for night ring to get in and once checked in we went to the room. The entire hotel sort of smelled of age and mildew as did the room. The room was, however clean but very old in its furnishings and such. No amenities in the bath but brought my own so no issue. Spiders walking across the floor the next morning but we could step on them.

Surprisingly though, the lounge/restaurant although dingy, served a very good dinner and breakfast and at a very good price.

Best advice from me is do not stay there if there is a room in the Comfort Inn or Best Western in Kenora. Sad to say, but Days Inn has not kept up its facility.

Phil Brougham

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherriedays, Owner at Days Inn Kenora, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi there - thank you for your recent posting on trip advisory. Yes i do have an old building and renovations will be taking place when we slow down. We did renovate all the double guests rooms on the second level, as well we have been changing our drive up rooms to laminate flooring. The carpet has been removed from the lobby and thank you for the positive comment regarding our food despite the dingy atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in many hotels across the country on a recent trip,and this was among the worst. We chose it because we had had good experiences with Days Inns, but was nothing like the others, definitely older and more run down. Our experience was not helped when an incredibly rude woman initially turned us away because she could not find our reservation, leaving us wondering where we would stay, only to later call us and tell us (without any real apology) that we should come back because they found our reservation after all. They did give us a free room as compensation, but it should never have happened.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherriedays, Owner at Days Inn Kenora, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello,
I do recall calling you and apologizing to your wife and offering a free nights stay. You're right this should not have happened and i truly am sorry that it did. My front desk agent had checked you in by mistake therefore you were not on the arrivals. I do feel that i did go the extra mile to find your phone number and offer you the free night stay. Again, i apologize for your inconvenience, i hope your kids enjoyed our waterslide.

Sherrie Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Started off with very friendly and out going service from the desk clerk. The price was the best in town for what we got. Room was very clean and beds were so comfortable. A great over all experience and we will always stay there when in Kenora now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donovan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We pulled into the Kenora Days Inn late one afternoon with our two dogs and asked for a room. The front desk staff were friendly, efficient, and welcoming. They didn't charge an outrageous pet fee, nor did they require us to sign an onerous contract like so many places. Our room had older furnishings, but was clean and spacious. (And it didn't reek of cigarette smoke. Too many motels turn former smoking rooms into their pet rooms, making some bizarre assumption that if you travel with animals, you must be fine with walls, linens and towels that reek of tobacco and nicotine.) The room's outside private entrance made it easy to get the dogs in and out, and the on-site restaurant had good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherriedays, Owner at Days Inn Kenora, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful comment. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at days inn kenora. We have recently purchased new furniture in some of our rooms. All rooms will receive new furniture soon! Pets are always welcome at our hotel we understand that they are part of the family. Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenora hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Kenora
Travelodge Kenora
#5 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#4 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Kenora
Super 8 Kenora
#1 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selah Motel
Selah Motel
#3 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kenora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kenora

Property: Days Inn Kenora
Address: 920 Hwy. 17 E. (Trans Canada Highway), Kenora, Ontario P9N 3X1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Kenora
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Kenora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kenora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kenora Hotel Kenora
Kenora Days Inn
Days Inn Kenora Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing