We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm in the Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Calm in the Storm”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I wanted a little get away during the rainy Victoria Day long weekend. The hotel was right on the lake and we had a nice view of the city. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was great to deal with. They had an inside pool which overlooked the area. The Sauna was nice and warm. Could have been a little warmer but it was good anyway. They had a nice restaurant in the building over looking the lake. The food was great and I would recomend trying the BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich. I would recommend calling the hotel first as when I called they had a special on which was cheaper than the pricing found online. We saved about $20 on a King size bed. All in all this place is the place to stay as it's close to Safeway and if you have a boat you can moore it right in front on the hotel from what I saw.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACN2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    104
    75
    28
    20
See reviews for
54
108
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel is easy to find due to it's distictive shape. It's centrally located & we had a great view from our window. It is a BW, so it is what it is. I would say a little better than your average BW. Hotel definetely needs some updating, but it's not run down or anything. It could use more parking spaces.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMBlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As Kenora is not New York or even Chilliwack I thought it wise to spend my two nights in the best hotel in Kenora. I was told the Lakeside was it. I stayed two nights and could not rate the experience above 'Average'. Now in their defence there was some renos going on apparently although I saw no sign of that effort. This is the reason why my room (on the 7th floor and an excellent view of a frozen lake) had only two lights in it not counting the bathroom. There was the overhead light as you enter the room and a dim tri-light by the window. I has arrived late (10 pm) and was tired and hungry. The restaurant was closed but the bar was open. Off I head to the establishment only to find poor beer selection, nothing on tap, and not a single snack food to be found. No chips, nuts - nothing! Did I mention I was hungry?
So I had a few common beers and headed off to my room. Settled into bed and found I couldn't read as there were no bedside table lamps just that tall tri-light by the window. Didn't cast enough to read by in bed so I decided to watch TV but, with the lights out I couldn't read the remote (no it didn't light up). Went to sleep. The bed was very comfy and the pillows were wonderful.
In the morning I ordered room service of eggs, sausages, toast and a carafe of coffee. I got eggs, sausages, toast and a styrofoam cup of coffee. Food was hotel plain but I expected that. I called down about the carafe of coffee and was questioned as to why - it's a lot of coffee. Just send it! I also asked for a regular coffe cup or mug. I was asked "a glass one?" I said I didn't care if it was glass or china - I just didn't want a styrofoam cup. I was told that the reason the cup was styrofoam was in case it got dropped it wouldn't break. I explained that china or porcelien cups are easily seen if dropped and broken but glass of course would be hard to see. Do you have any glass cups for coffee? No - was the answer. By the way the plate with my breakfast was china and the in-room coffee maker was glass. i'm tired of writing. Wasn't a good experience. Just a note - the bar lady was very nice and interesting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel has a nice view and very comfortable beds. The general appearance is a little tired but ok. The part I had a difficult time with is that you cannot get room service for breakfast. You have to go to the restaurant and order it and pick it up yourself. That's not what I call room service. I don't know why they have a breakfast room service menu in the room when there is no room service. That's non sensical to me. Also they have coffee in the lobby in the morning but once it's empty, that's it that's all folks. It does not get replenished. And by 8:00 am, it was empty all three mornings we were there. I was very disappointed with the lack of basic service in this hotel compared to what a hotel of that price should be offering.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jayandelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AprilHarasemchuk, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view and our comfortable beds. I would like to apologize for the lack of room service on your stay. I have passed on your concerns to our Food & Beverage manager and he will be ensuring that this does not happen again.
We have the coffee in our lobby for the early risers that cannot grab a cup in the restaurant before their departure. We only have the coffee out until 8:00am, by that time the restaurant would be happy to supply you with a cup. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The 'Peg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

A novel structure affording a great view of the lake and beautiful sunsets. Apart from the view, the room itself was rather lackluster - tired and uninspired with hotch-potch furniture. Just a general feeling that it was in need of an upgrade with inspiration and vision. The bed was quite comfy. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Purchased food reflected the general depressing tone of the place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AprilHarasemchuk, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Since your stay in August 2012 we have renovated most of our rooms and we would like to invite you to stay with us again so you may enojy the new features.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a well maintained older hotel with wonderful views of the Lake of the Woods.
If you ask for the manager's rate you will get a descent room but usually with a town side view.
This is a good choice for business people visiting firms in the downtown area as well as tourists travelling through.
The restaurant is on an upper floor where you feel you could sit for hours and just look at the view. The menu is unimaginative but the quality is good and portions generous.
There is a swimming pool at the top of the building.
Rooms are comfortable, Front desk was great, very accomodating.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrat1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AprilHarasemchuk, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our hotel accommodates many business travellers as we have the amenties they require like our business rooms with a oversized desk, complimentary WiFi and free local calling. During the summer we have many tourists stop and stay with us as we are close to the downtown area for shopping and sight seeing.
Our restaurant is the perfect place to relax and have lunch while enjoying the view. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our menu selection. We are creating a summer menu and would like to encourage you to come back and try it.
Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and front desk. We strive everyday to ensure excellence in our service. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed here before and was always treated very nice. Definately a preferred room is one facing the Lake. A lot of the clientele in the hotel are from government agencies. I have not had a spectaclular meal from the dining room in any of my stays, I prefer to venture out. Weekends can be interesting with the winter travelling of Parents with their children's sports teams. Never am quite sure who are the worse, the parents who leave their room doors open and wander around the floor visiting other parents or the children who are fascinated by riding elevators and going up and down the stairs. Make sure to ask for a floor away from the weekend warriors.

Room Tip: Not a good idea to be on the fourth floor facing the street right now. Trust me on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AprilHarasemchuk, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel. We are happy that you have returned to enjoy another stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you have not had a great meal in our restaurant and I will be sharing this with our chef so he may incorporate some new ideas to spice up our dishes.
We are a preferred hotel for hockey tournaments as we are right across the street from the arena. When we accommodate hockey teams we do try to put them on their separate floors so they may not bother other guests.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenora hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Kenora
Travelodge Kenora
#7 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kenora
Days Inn Kenora
#6 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#4 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Kenora
Super 8 Kenora
#1 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Selah Motel
Selah Motel
#3 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre

Property: Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre
Address: 470 First Ave S, Kenora, Ontario P9N 1W5, Canada (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Kenora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre! Stay at this Kenora hotel situated on the beautiful Lake of the Woods in Ontario, Canada! The Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre is an 11 story circular hotel overlooking Lake of the Woods and downtown Kenora. Hotel guests will be conveniently located near all main area attractions including Rushing River Provincial Park, Lake of the Woods Museum and the MS Kenora, which sails three times a day. The hotel is also close to a variety of nearby dining and shopping options. The area offers an abundance of outdoor recreational activities including ice fishing, boating, skiing and hiking. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, cable television and free long distance access. Corporate and Vice Regal suites with separate living room and upgraded amenities are available. The hotel also offers a beautiful waterside dining room and lounge overlooking Lake of the Woods. The staff at the Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre is ready to ensure every guest has a comfortable and memorable stay. Make an online reservation today and save at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lakeside Hotel Kenora
Best Western Kenora
Kenora Best Western
Clarion Inn Lakeside And Conference Centre Kenora, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing