We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unclean & "False" Amenities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutton Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutton Park Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kincardine
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unclean & "False" Amenities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed because it was the last place available for a large group during the busy highland games. There is a permanent musty smell to the whole place, especially the rooms. The "breakfast included" was ample, but all the cheapest of quality/cooking (so much so that despite the extra cost, we opted to eat elsewhere the 2nd and 3rd mornings). "Free wi-fi available" doesn't mean it's working. Everything is seriously out of date in the decor and maintenance. Many rooms had problems with ants and earwigs - one traveller even crushed a beetle, only to find it still there that evening, after housekeeping had been in!

Only advantages were the friendly staff and proximity to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elminowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    11
    10
    13
See reviews for
21
18
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed there with the family for one day... the owner is very approachable. The rooms are clean, and it looks like they were being updated. Free breakfast was included - very decent. Hotel is convenient. Very quiet, yet close to shopping/supermarket.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner before reserving online, you may get a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Abdul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from another weekend at the Howard Johnson in Kincardine - our 3rd year coming here. This place is an excellent backdrop to a great stay in Kincardine - less than ten minutes to the beautiful shores of Lake Huron and downtown. Breakfast is included with your stay - bacon, sausages, eggs etc. - which provides a good start to the day. Also, there is a fantastic new Japanese & Korean restaurant - the sushi boat rivalled top sushi restaurants in Toronto/GTA. The rooms are always clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly! Owner/staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Just ask over the phone when you call to book for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Freindly staff,owner is approachable and personable.Any issues brought to front desk were dealt with right away .Renovations still taking place outside and inside, awesome Korean restaurant,Rooms a little dull as far as lighting, Tv works free Hbo thats a bonus as I live on the road in motels 3 weeks a month.Bathroom small, Express Breakfast could use a little help.
Not bad for price paid. still a little rough around the edges.
Rooms are dark but thats ok when trying to sleep and early in the morning..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPPP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morriston, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

+ Conveniently located for travelling along the Saugeen coast.
+ Nice staff, especially the young lady at the desk when I arrived.
+ Pets allowed.
- However the pet fee is rather steep, $25 for the first night $5 for per night after that. The rate is not advertised on their website.
The breakfast was decent - waffles, bread, cereal, small assortment of teas, fruit, and more.
- The decor - dingy, old, worn out, depressing. Really needs a facelift.
- Free WiFi - only problem is, it doesn't work. Very poor signal any time I tried. I went to Coffee Culture downtown to get some work done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3392048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Friendly staff, fantastic Japanese and Korean Restaurant. Food is excellent! Highly recommended.

For an evening out with friends and the Best Sushi Bar west of Toronto, I cannot say enough.

This hotel is an Icon in the Town of Kincardine. I would definately stay and play here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRon888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Don't listen to any negative reviews from before Howard Johnson took over, this place is excellent. The owner is very personable and very willing to please, and that makes all the difference. Everyone else who works here is also very personable. I stayed here for 3 weeks and I could've stayed anywhere in the area. There is free long distance, many movie channels, microwave, fridge, free breakfast, very clean rooms with very good climate control, you can pull your car right up to the room and walk down the hallway for breakfast. There are pool tables, and a bar. The lobby is beautiful. The hotel just became a part of Howard Johnson. Prices are very reasonable and I couldn't have had a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kincardine
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kincardine
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kincardine
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Walkerton Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Inn at the Harbour
Inn at the Harbour
#2 of 7 in Kincardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kincardine Guest Cottage Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Park Inn

Property: Sutton Park Inn
Address: 1126 Sutton St, Kincardine, Ontario N2Z 2E2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Kincardine)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Kincardine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kincardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sutton Park Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious well-appointed guest rooms are quiet, ensuring a relaxing stay. Sutton Park Inn and Black Box Lounge has friendly staff to greet you. For the pool players a little bit of heaven and all the amenities of fun with excellent service and great food. Sutton Park Inn is a special retreat for your stay away from home. We accommodate business travelers, Banquet facilities are also available. While your here, enjoy our renowned Lake Huron and sandy beaches. Come visit us. Call for your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Sutton Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kincardine-Ontario Hotel Kincardine
Kincardine Howard Johnson
Sutton Park Inn Kincardine, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing