We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Modern India

Modern India
Ranked #118 of 532 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a stand by for us for dinners. The buffet is very reasonably priced, and the food is good. Lunch is especially affordable. They now offer take away boxes where you just fill up from the buffet table!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    34
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I may be biased....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am of East Indian decent and would not consider myself a newbie in the kitchen. Decided to come here with the family and was mortified!

The cutlery was not clean, the hostess and waitress were in their own world (cell phones) and didn't care about customer service AND the place looked like a dive. That being said, I am okay with that. The real kicker was that the ingedients WERE NOT fresh. The potatoes came from a can, the cauliflower curry dish had been sitting out so long it was dry and withered, the naan was dry and the butter chicken was so poorly seasoned I wouldn't feed it to my dog.

Lesson: if you know how to make Indian food, make it at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelGyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Modern India is my favorite Indian restaurant in the Waterloo Region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Modern India is definitely my favorite Indian restaurant in this area. I eat there more than six times a year.

I'm always warmly greeted by the owner. The food is always fresh and tasty. It offers a wide variety of foods on the buffet for vegetarians such as myself.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food, deceiving decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Small but quality buffet, reasonably priced. Good selection of dishes. Service is good, decor a little underwhelming.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CdnBusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

One of the better Indian Buffet in the area,lots of parking and very clean, butter chicken and naan are the best,can be busy on the weekends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbs_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern India also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Modern India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing