We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable but noisy”

Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 537 Restaurants in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but noisy”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Rugantino is small and charming and we recieved attentive service. We were a group of 4 and really struggled to hear each other. Food was very good, and I will return, especially in the summer as they have a great patio.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“True Italian food at its best!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Well located in Belmont Village. Nice Italian setting and ambiance of Italy. Friendly staff. Their appetizers, side order and main dishes are simply delicious. The menu offers a lot of variety from seafood, chicken, meat, veggies dishes just simply delightful for everyone's appetite. Very nice for lovely dinners for couples, family, business or get together with friends.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank geeko30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian Home Cooking”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Initimate surroundings. Great service. I had the Boccocini and my husband the Veal Parm. Caesar salads to start. Homemeade dressing. Next came pasta with homemade marinara sauce. Both entrees were simply amazing. So much food. So good. Our new favorite place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good service, okay food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Service was very attentive and friendly. I ordered chicken Parmesan and was surprised when I received my food to find the chicken to be thighs instead of breast meat. $26 for chicken thigh is too expensive. Caesar salad tasted strongly of anchovies and lacked bacon bits. The pasta dishes my husband and son had were very good. Next time we would try the pizza, seemed to be popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123cooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pleasant neighbourhood Italian”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Took the in-laws here for lunch and had a perfectly adequate meal with decent service. Bruschetta to start followed by reasonably-priced (~10-12$) lunch specials. Two orders of penne with meatballs ($2 supplement for the meat balls over the red meat sauce) and two of eggplant parmigiana, all tasted good. Very warm bread served with butter. With a bottle of Pinot Grigio it came in at $122$ for the four of us with taxes and tip. So not cheap for what we had I suppose but a nice lunch in a nice neighbourhood setting. Would return

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing