We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, okay food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant

Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 528 Restaurants in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good service, okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Service was very attentive and friendly. I ordered chicken Parmesan and was surprised when I received my food to find the chicken to be thighs instead of breast meat. $26 for chicken thigh is too expensive. Caesar salad tasted strongly of anchovies and lacked bacon bits. The pasta dishes my husband and son had were very good. Next time we would try the pizza, seemed to be popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123cooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pleasant neighbourhood Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Took the in-laws here for lunch and had a perfectly adequate meal with decent service. Bruschetta to start followed by reasonably-priced (~10-12$) lunch specials. Two orders of penne with meatballs ($2 supplement for the meat balls over the red meat sauce) and two of eggplant parmigiana, all tasted good. Very warm bread served with butter. With a bottle of Pinot Grigio it came in at $122$ for the four of us with taxes and tip. So not cheap for what we had I suppose but a nice lunch in a nice neighbourhood setting. Would return

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of my favourite Italian restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Everything is great there. Go try it! The food, service, atmosphere, it's all GREAT! I love the warm complementary bread! Amazing pastas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank benw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Food, Quaint Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Small little restaurant with great homemade food. Try the pizza, one of the best I have had. Make reservations in advance, there are only a few tables and without reservations you may be waiting awhile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lasagne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Best lasagne you can get at a restaurant anywhere outside of Italy. Seriously.
The pizza is pretty amazing too. This place has been family owned and around for years and years and doesn't seem to have lost its cozy family atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Cooljewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Casa Rugantino Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing