We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innovative”
Review of Verses Restaurant - CLOSED

Verses Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $102
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Innovative”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Every dish was excellent... the chef here knows his stuff. The thai soup with a salad and chili lime cotton candy was one of the more dramatic looking appetizers I've ever seen. I had the wagyu beef tartar - which was great. Then for my main, the special, which was sea bass with lentils and greens in a creamy butter sauce. It was executed to perfection. My friend had the beef tenderloin which was incredibly tender. Every dish had its unique flavours and sauces, and everybody loved what they ordered. My dessert, the deconstructed cheesecake, was another exceptional visual presentation. It tasted just as good as it looked.

If this restaurant were in a big city like Toronto, Montreal or New York, I think it would easily command prices two or three times the current offering.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooljewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    14
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Puts the "fine" in Fine Dining”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A bit pricier than the average restaurant but it is not the average restaurant. The menu has ingredients that are specialized; where else are you going to get a chance to try ostrich or sweetbreads!?! Tried both and they were fantastic. The service is top notch as well. A very classy restaurant and we had a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fine Dining in all of KW Cambridge”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spectacular food, presentation, selection and service. Atmosphere is wonderful and second to none in KW. Beats all the other fine establishments by a long shot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food, ambiance, service”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I chose Verses for a special holiday dinner with a long-standing and well-traveled friend from Europe, my son and his girlfriend, and my husband. It was perfect in every respect. I'd made an error in my reservation and there were 2 extra people in the party; the restaurant was quite gracious in not pointing out that it was my error (as I recognized myself after we were seated). My friend is vegan due to health concerns; the waiter was extremely knowledgeable and patient in suggesting dishes that could be prepared without use of dairy. For people who have specific dietary concerns, eating in restaurants can be one of the most frustrating experiences; in this case, however, it was an absolutely pleasure. Mushroom soup, Verses salad, and Thai "soup and salad" starters were all excellent. As an entree, 4 of us ordered the market fish (tile fish): it was perfectly prepared with a coconut-scented rice and and steamed vegetables. My husband ate Peking-style duck and voted it excellent as well; he has eaten Peking duck in Beijing several times in fine-dining restaurants there and said that, although the Verses presentation was not in the traditional style (i.e. in Beijing one "assembles one's own") the quality and flavour were comparable to the "real thing". As noted by other reviewers, this is definitely a "foodie" restaurant, so be prepared for unusual dishes: an adventurous palate is a necessity. Service was excellent. Chairs are very comfortable and at the same time elegant. Ambiance (renovated church) is lovely. Altogether a perfect dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and Upscale Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband are I were taken here by my twin sister and her husband as they live in the area and have been multiple times. They wanted to share with us the wonderful experience that they have had on every occasion. The restaurant is an old renovated church with a real 20 foot beautifully decorated Christmas tree in the entrance. The seating arrangement is well appointed, giving patrons an element of privacy while dining. The physical décor is sophisticated and delightful. I am pretty confident in saying that the menu choices will appeal to everyone. The menu selections are truly excellent with authentic flavors, innovative, and beautifully presented. The service was absolutely outstanding and the owner, Debbie was personable and ensured that we all had an incredible experience.

There are many words I could use to describe the ambiance of this restaurant, but I will just sum it up in four words "Go See For Yourself"!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moe777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verses Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing