We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale and Ale Pub is great to have in the neighbourhood”
Review of The Whale & Ale

The Whale & Ale
Ranked #121 of 547 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Whale and Ale Pub is great to have in the neighbourhood”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Whale and Ale Pub feels to us like it must feel to locals in a little British or Irish town who have just one pub/restaurant they frequent. The wait staff has pretty much stayed the same for years (which says something, I've asked, they say the boss/owner is good to work for), so much so that the know us by name when we come in. Some of them even remember what drinks we normally order. Atmosphere is great and it is good pub style food. The fish and chip special on Monday nights can't be beat and it is probably the best fish and chips in town. We do go other places, but Whale and Ale has become our neighbourhood pub to go to where we really feel at home and everyone and everything is familiar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbellford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped in for a quick bite & ale after work, very good service, beer was not only good & cold, there was a good selection. Had a feed of fish & chips, ate em all and didn't need anything else. Good solid working mans food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food was good just a little pricey for us. Only tried the fish and chips .Service was good to they also do take out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“British themed pub”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Not much to look at from the outside but once you are inside it does look like a typical British pub. The Tennents and Younger's tartan bitter signs took me back to my youth in the early eighties in England. One big pity is that they do not sell English beer here on tap or bottle. Although you can buy Carling from the beer store I am yet to find a pub stocking it. The service was good and orders taken and served within a reasonable time. We went on a Monday which was fish and chips special day so the value of the fish and chips was excellent. Similar to an English pub style for the meals so pleased with the food. I have noticed in this pub and elsewhere that the menu includes Shepherd's pie which is made from beef!! Shepherd's pie is made from Lamb (the shepherd name should give you a clue) and what you are actually serving is cottage pie. A bit of fine tuning required on the menu and provide British beer and then you have yourself a British pub. A reasonably good pub but a bit of fine tuning and it could be even better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great pub with excellent food.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Dropped in on a Saturday afternoon. Obviously a lot of locals and regulars come here. The food and the atmosphere was great. Despite being busy the service was top notch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whale & Ale also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The Whale & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing