We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 years, always a pleasure, eat in or take out”
Review of Lai Lai Restaurant

Lai Lai Restaurant
Ranked #336 of 544 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“4 years, always a pleasure, eat in or take out”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have been visitiing Lai Lai regularly. The food has always been good, well cooked and tasty.

Their sweet and sour soup with won tons is excellent. Every time, without any fluctuation in quality.

Their variety is good, a little geared towards Canadians (no tripe, cows tendons, chicken feet etc, you have to to Markham, Toronto to get a nice serving of this tasty variety) which is good.

We have tried others but they cannot stand up to the combination of price/value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onnomvansanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“no watetr needed”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

food portions good and quality of dishes were excellent no msg therefore true taste our favorite
they cater to large groups down stairs in party room with all the goodies

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cokeclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GO.... Great Food!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh Rice, delicious fresh food always.. A good friend of mine had recomemded this restaurant so we tried it!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wan09M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener ontario canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was fast”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went here for a birthday celebration. The decor is quite dated and tired. The food was good and came in a timely manner.It was good but that was all. It was not great. I would not likely return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeandVal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ordered:
Beef & Broccoli - good quality beef, nice flavor, broccoli was nearly raw
Mushroom Egg Foo Yung - very good, lots of bean sprouts, sauce was lighter than typical egg foo yung gravy
Sweet & Sour Chicken Balls - very good, big pieces of chicken
Vegetarian Pan-fried dumplings - average
Egg Drop Soup with Minced Beef - we ordered the medium and the bowl was huge. All four of us had a small serving and there was still half a bowl left. Contained quite a bit of beef as well as tofu and some peas.

The restaurant is small, but they seem to do a lot of take-out business. The service was attentive but the food didn't all come out together. Ice in the water glasses would be a nice addition. We had 4 people at a table for 4 and there was hardly enough room to put all the food on the table. We had to keep shifting things around. Total cost was a little less than $50.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elffriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Lai Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Lai Lai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing