We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is everything... Really a 3 1/2, but they ARE consistent”

Cameron Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 541 Restaurants in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Timing is everything... Really a 3 1/2, but they ARE consistent”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Dropped by for a quick lunch a couple of weekends back and lucked out by (a) getting a parking spot and (b) having only a few folk ahead of us in the waiting area.

So we got seated quickly, had filled out our order form while waiting and it was picked up fast by an efficient waitress. There are certainly no frills here but given the many years since my last visit, I was happy there were no surpises either.

I must say the consistency is appreciated even if he food is not spectacular. It is good dim sum, perhaps a tad more expensive than in other places. All staff on the hop and seem industrious. Clean bathrooms.

Front desk could smile a bit more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great food great selection and great service
usually busy but service very efficient. Suggest 3-4 selections enough for two with a plate of leftovers
Love the lettuce wraps

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rangerfansince69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The parking lot was icy and dangerous as we made our way to the door. Bags of salt sat beside the restaurant unopened.
A curt request asked if we wanted tea. The usual presentation of a pot of tea at most other restaurants seemed like a special order at the Cameron.
There is no trolley service for dim sum. Ordering must be done off of the sheet that gives a written description but no pictures.
The food was good...but not outstanding. Sticky rice in lotus leaf was small compared to other restaurants. Staff hardly spoke. The restaurant is small with hard surfaces, so it was loud at lunch time.
The woman taking payment at the door was less than cordial. Other places offer equally good food at more reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie48Guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener,Ontario
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We eat here regularly and have never been disappointed! Wait staff are friendly and efficient and it is is well worth the extra time to have freshly prepared food

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deganwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
“AVERAGE AT BEST”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went for lunch to try Dim-Sum. We ordered Shrimp Rolls, Ha Gow, Siu Mai, Cheung Fan,
Stuffed Green Peppers (Tasted horrible) fried calamari (very rubbery) and an order of Cantonese Chow Mein (Noodles swimming in Greasy Sauce and not crispy at all and all the seafood was a Mini-Version of shrimp, scallop and very little vegetables and very overpriced at $ 12.95). The Bill arrived and for Lunch for 2 People and 2 Pop we paid $ 60.67.I found this very overpriced and ask for a breakdown of items and found out that shrimprolls , calamari are $ 6.99 each. Every other Dim Sum Restaurant would charge around $ 3.50 for those Items. So all in all a very average and expensive Lunch and nothing memorable for a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Cameron Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing