We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday night buffet, not as good as the first time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Concordia Club

Concordia Club
Ranked #49 of 528 Restaurants in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: German, European, Bar, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: German Canadian Club providing hospitality since 1873. Full service Restaurant with outdoor Patio as well as a 450 seat banquet hall. Open 6 days a week. The club is a not for profit organization.We are conveniently located in the center of Kitchener, close to the expressway and offer ample parking for our guests. Our cuisine is a blend of German as well as North American dishes. We are well known beyond our borders as "the home of Oktoberfest" where in October the club ads a 4,000 person tent to it's building in order to celebrate it's annual "Oktoberfest"If you want to experience German food prepared by our professional staff according to how it is made in Europe, the Club is your place!
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Friday night buffet, not as good as the first time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went for the Friday evening buffet again, as we had a big craving for schnitzel and sauerkraut. We enjoyed this meal the first time we came here, many months ago. This time, the schnitzel and kraut were ok. Not good, just ok. The also had pork chops and turkey sausage, which we did not like. Too dry and no flavour, and were left uneaten on our plates. The mashed potatoes were quite hard like cement, not creamy at all. Mashed are quick and easy to make, so how can you not take the time to make them well? It surprises me at how easily this meal could have been prepared well, but it seemed they are no longer cooking from their heart. At least not that night, for sure. We did enjoy the soup, and some of the salads.

Next time we crave schnitzel, we will proably go somewhere else, or better yet, make it at home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danewfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine German food dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

While in Kitchener, had a craving for good wholesome German food. Found it at The Schenke restaurant (part of the Concordia Club of Kitchener). I love to eat schnitzel and there were several choices on the menu. Decided on the chicken schnitzel with mushroom sauce with sauerkraut and home fries. Ordered their red cabbage as a side to share with hubby who ordered the Cordon Bleu with home fries and vegetables. It did take a bit of a wait for the food to come but when it did we were not disappointed. The plates were very full. The taste of everything was as I had expected for a German restaurant. Quite a satisfying meal. Took home half of my dinner for the next day, as I wanted room for dessert. I choose the Black Forest cake and my husband had the strudel with ice cream. Delicious! The menu had quite the selection for entrees, appetizers and desserts. The staff were friendly, efficient and attentive. Next time we're in Kitchener, we know where to go for a fantastic meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 456RoseP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unreasonable "cutting fee"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We went to Concordia for brunch family brunch. A child in our party of 17 has a peanut allergy so we asked to bring our own dessert (cake). It was not until we arrived that we were told that there is a cutting fee - and only when we got our bill did we realize that they charged us $27! When I called the following day to speak with a manager they explained that it was $1.50 per person but would not budge on how unreasonable it was to charge us that amount of money because of a LIFE THREATENING allergy. No one in our party had dessert yet they refused to offer any compensation for the ridiculous charge. Totally unreasonable and we won't return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finally I found the greatest place outside of Germany!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

It's been one of my plans to visit the Concordia Club for several years. Finally I have done so today and now I regret having missed any previous opportunities. The food was simply unbelievable!! Being a German food lover, I had to try several dishes and everything was outstanding!! The most memorable dining experience outside if Germany!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Jacobs, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great way to experience German culture in Kitchener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Finally went to The Schenke after meaning to try it for a couple of years! Atmosphere and decor were great - food was very tasty, good value. Saturday night was pretty busy (dine + dance night), so definitely make a reservation (which we did, easy to do online). They probably could have used one more server, though, just to speed things up a tiny bit. Overall, I definitely recommend checking it out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schoencm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concordia Club also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Conestogo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Concordia Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing