We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hidden gem”

Guanaquita Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 541 Restaurants in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Salvadoran, Central American
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hidden gem”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

You'll go back for the food and the amazing service. The staff are so friendly and cheerful.

The small patio overlooking King St is awesome.

Everything I eaten here is good including the burritos.

Tip: If you're going as a group, call ahead. The kitchen needs the notice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nibbles_waterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, go here”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've been to Guanaquita twice now for lunch, and both times have greatly enjoyed myself. The service is fantastic; so warm, friendly, and helpful, the prices fantastic value, and the food is very authentic.

This is authentic latin American food, so be prepared for a heavy meal, but the flavours are great, and overall the food is very high quality. I will be back again and again.

The decor as some reviewers have noted is dated, but these guys more than make up for it with truly amazing service and terrific food. Check it out and enjoy the lovely Guanaquita.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenhagonDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“what a lovely find! best service... highly recommend.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

what a lucky find! was looking for good tacos, and found this place. legit latin American food, great prices. enchiladas, papusos tacos. $2-2.75 for those items. meals for about $10-15. great mixed drinks, esp the mojitos, made different but great. also salsa dancing Saturday nights!

loved the small patio, great views of king street, and the most fantastic service.
dont let the decor fool you, not some post mod place, I think its cool!
A real gem was glad to find it. will be telling my friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelonmyown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fantastic food! Authentic Salvadorian cuisine. The menu is extensive and the beverages are stocked with a mixture of different cultures. Don't let the very dated bar interior distract you from the food. The service is good, but I noticed as it started to fill up it began to slow a bit and not that the servers where frazzled but they could have used a runner or bus person to help with flow. Plus they need to get a website. They have a facebook page. There is a balcony overlooking King St. and very large booths that can fit 8 people. There's dancing on Friday nights (we were there on a Friday but unfortunately the dancers weren't preforming that evening. The staff were very friendly and as attentive as possible.
I highly recommend Guanaquita for anyone looking for South Latin cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljm192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porters Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We wanted Mexican food and stumbled upon this hidden gem on another website, we couldn't be happier. The location is charming, we ate on the balcony, great view of the area and street below. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was home cooked, authentic and delicious. We split nachos, tacos and enchiladas and although it had a Mexican flare of course, it was unique to the El Salvador culture. Everything is quite cheap as well, our bill came to less than $35 for two people with drinks (non-alcoholic).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exercitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guanaquita Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Guanaquita Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing