We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local History Not Dead”

Waterloo Region Museum
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Waterloo Region Museum is the largest community museum in Ontario. Our campus of historical attractions includes the Waterloo Region Museum which showcases more than 12,000 years of history in Waterloo Region; Doon Heritage Village - a recreation of rural village in 1914, with more than 20 historic buildings, costumed interpreters and farm animals; the Waterloo Region Hall of Fame honouring individuals and groups who have brought recognition to themselves and Waterloo Region; and the Region of Waterloo Curatorial Centre - our world class artifact preservation and storage facility. The Waterloo Region Museum and the Waterloo Region Hall of Fame are open year round. Doon Heritage Village is open seasonally from May 1 through December 23. The public hours for the museum and village are different at some times of the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local History Not Dead”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Still in it's infancy, the displays are nonetheless fascinating since they all are from this area, and most important in my opinion, they often focus on the everyday life and work of the people who made this region what it is today. And don't forget to see the Pioneer Village on the site. It's a fabulous place to spend an hour or two or three. <LOL>

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CYSHIBATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    54
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“1914 never looked so great!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The museum and the adjoining Doon village are a delight for young and old. My daughter and I spent the afternoon together learning about the history of this era and got a real taste for pioneer life. The museum building, despite its rather unattractive multi-coloured exterior, is gorgeous and well-planned. The sections on immigration and innovation were both very enlightening. This is a great place for kids of all ages and a wonderful place for a multi-generation family activity. Food choices at the canteen are VERY limited, so its best to pick a lunch. Check the website for special events. We missed a lovely live concert because we mistimed our visit. The young docents did a really good job of explaining how various businesspeople actually made a living almost a century ago. Parts of the Anne of Green Gable movies were filmed in the Doon Village.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TiredCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great place to spend day with kids”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Has something for all ages, lots of hands on opportuninites, daily craft done. infant toddler area, safe for little ones, good spot to sit and eat. interactive

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank spudjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Everything a museum should be”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The building is beautifully designed to show where a railway and a road met. The exhibits are thoughtful and really give a clear sense of the unique history of Waterloo Region. And the exhibit on innovation shows a culture that led to the BlackBerry. The whole place really shows you how history can help us understand where we are now. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Visual of Kitchener's History”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice facility with integrated water features. Loved how many artifacts were on display and a chronological wall from the natives to the early settlers to now. Very interesting.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mich058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterloo Region Museum also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Waterloo Region Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing