We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time. Great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand River Rocks

Grand River Rocks
Ranked #3 of 20 Fun & Games in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Grand River Rocks is the premier indoor climbing gym in Kitchener-Waterloo. We offer over 100 climbs of various difficulty from beginner to seasoned climbers. We offer yoga & fitness classes, camps, youth programs, weight/fitness room, parties, groups, and lessons.
1 review
“Great time. Great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Turns out I'm a better climber than I thought. I am going back soon. Great atmosphere. Staff is very encouraging and supportive of first timers that... have a lot to learn.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank APinchinPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The atmosphere at GRR is unlike that of other climbing gyms. The staff is fantastic, but so are the members that frequent the gym. There is a unique helpful and comforting ambiance throughout the gym. Routes are fun and challenging and the boulder is simply awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gym? A gym can't be this much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I can't believe that Grand River Rocks is a gym. Very new to the sport of rock climbing and the staff and climbers make you feel like home. Staff is super friendly and are a great family. Climbers (clientele) are so friendly and experienced. Someone is always willing to help another climber, both new to the gym and seasoned climbers. There is never a dull moment there as routes are always changing, never stagnate. Great range of climbs on the walls and their massive boulder. Always a great time when climbing at Grand River Rocks. Anyone travelling to Southern Ontario and likes to climb, this place should definitely be on your list to hit for indoor climbing.

Can't wait to see what is in store for them in the future since it is soo new

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great climb from novice to expert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have to say for a sport that I am just getting back into after 25 years this gym is great. The staff are helpfull but I cannot say enough about the other patrons. Over all a very friendly atmosphere, lots of encouragement from others and very challangeing climbs. Even when it is busy there is lots of room to get your climb on. I only wish I had found this place sooner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeDaveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Party Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been here twice for our kids birthday parties. The staff are great at helping the kids and encouraging them. Nice big facility - lots of room to climb, and a nice little spot for pizza & cake when the climbing is done!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand River Rocks also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Grand River Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing