We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, cooperative, obliging senior manager; motel needs better maintenance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Kitchener
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Pleasant, cooperative, obliging senior manager; motel needs better maintenance.”
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Three buildings (middle one of two stories) on three sides of parking area with fenced swimming pool in center (closes at 11 p.m.). Motel faces the freeway (route 8) and backs on the main road (Weber St.). Delightful, friendly manager. We had a spacious room, but it showed use and needed renovation. Housekeeping provided the absolute minimum service (emptied the trash bin).

Our large room included a kitchen area with two hotplates, bar fridge beneath, and kitchen sink; however, it included no pots, pans, crockery, cutlery or other utensils (in case you wanted to prepare food). The air conditioner worked well. Double-glazed windows and a tight seal around the entire door excluded noise from outside.

Our room (though not all other rooms) had double connecting doors which transmitted noise between the rooms (you could hear someone cough). Fortunately, during our visit the adjoining room had quiet guests which made our stay acceptable.

For breakfast, complimentary pastries, muffins and coffee were available in the reception office between 8 a.m. and 11 a.m., along with free copies of the Toronto Star.

Should the owners renovate (recommended), they ought to soundproof and seal off the connecting door openings (highly recommended). Frankly, only a small minority of guests would use them anyway.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful, cooperative manager; spacious room
  • Disliked — Connecting doors between rooms; poor maintenance and housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    18
    17
    33
See reviews for
29
26
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed at the Knights Inn on June 15, 2007 for one night. We had requested an early check in and it was graciously arranged. The front desk staff were amazingly helpfula and friendly. All the rooms do not have internet access and when we realized ours didn't they immediately offered another room. Since we had already showered we declined. The staff then offered to allow us to use another vacant room to just check our email. The room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the A/C was quiet and excellent. The bathroom could use some renovation but this property was probably built in the early 1960s. The rooms are being renovated which our room had new carpeting, wallpaper, bathroom tiles. The price was excellent $63.25+tax and we would definatley stay again. It is easy to access from the highway and the hotel website's directions are perfect. There is a Tim Horton's across the street and several other fast food locations near by.

  • Liked — Good value and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bathroom needs updating
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Nepean03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

I stayed at Knights Inn during my recent visit to kitchener. The room was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room had internet connection which was helpful in my case. Overall a good experience and good value.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Consultant74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

My pre-teen daughter and I stayed here to allow her to attend a local sporting event. We reviewed hotels on-line but actually booked the hotel/motel when we arrived and were able to look at the room.

We were pleased to find a very tidy, quite clean motel. There was no musty smell, the water tasted fine, and the bed was quite comfortable. In spite of proximity to busy traffic areas, we actually did not find noise to be obtrusive inside the room. The staff was courteous and helpful.

Really it was just what we wanted; a modest but comfortable place to sleep, no noisy parties or patrons running up and down the halls, reasonable price.

No complaints.

  • Liked — Value and cleanliness, nice staff.
  • Disliked — could use a coffee maker in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own kettle, but don't run too many items at once; blew a circuit braker.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mom'sTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

My sister and I just returned from a weekend in Kitchener, where she had some testing done at the college. Pre booked online for a room here at the Knight's Inn. Upon arrival, I was told the computer put us down for a room that wasn't at all what I had booked for. (2 queen beds, smoking, coffee-maker) He then gave me the key to another room. Grabbed the bags and went upstairs to a room completely unmade and with someone elses clothes all over the place. Put the bags back in the trunk and returned the key and was told to go to the Sherwood Motel next door, which these people also owned. Shabby room, with no coffeemaker. I told the woman there that I had specifically wanted a coffee-maker and she said they don't have them at the Sherwood. I told her I hadn't booked this hotel, I wanted the Knight's Inn. Long story short, they brought me a coffee-maker from next door, no mugs..no coffee packets, nothing else. After another trip to the lobby, I finally got 2 mugs, coffee and a few filters.....still no creamer and sweetner. Thank God I found a Tim Horton's around the corner. I paid for the Knight's Inn and stayed in a shabby room at a shabby hotel next door with no reimbursement whatsoever. Never again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — I didn't get the accomodation I pre-requested and paid for.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sheshe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kitchener hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 16, 2005

The musty smell is quite bad - sheats, towells and everything else has the same smell. Your clothing will smell the same after couple of nights at this place. Also - no iron / ironing board, no hair dryer.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2005

Stayed for one night, the room was clean and very comfortable. An older hotel, but there was nothing wrong with the room. The bathroom was old and could use some renovations, taps were old could be replaced. But overall it is a good bang for the buck.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank canuklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitchener hotels
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
742 reviews
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
289 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Kitchener

Property: Knights Inn Kitchener
Address: 1455 Weber St E, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Kitchener 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Kitchener Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Knights Inn
Knights Inn Kitchener Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing