We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep your expectations low here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Kitchener

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knights Inn Kitchener
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations low here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

It seems clean enough from the outside (if you can find it among Kitchener's attrocious road signage) but the fun starts when you are asked to pay for the room when you check in. Ominous. Be sure to ask to see the room before you pay.
On the inside this is a rundown place that has been made to look less bad by painting over everything in sight white.
There was no hot water for a shower so we had to go home without one.
The bath floor towel, when unfolded, looked like it had been used to wipe down someone's car.
The folk who run the place seem to fit the bill of people who might run a place like this.
We paid $65 a night and stayed there because friends had also booked it. We'll never stay there again, friends or no friends.
There are plenty of other, better hotels in the neighbourhood - fork out a few more bucks and get decent accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    16
    17
    30
See reviews for
27
25
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

I also sent my complaints to Hotel.com. What is offered is not there. Room filthy found 4 strands of hair in bath tub did not sleep under covers because did not feel the place was clean. Would not recomend to anyone. Took 3 rooms before I got one that was warm. Payed $70+ dollars for a terrible room it to me was a room that a person that was not planning on staying in would pay $35 for to just go in and change and leave again. Had to ask for a coffee machine and was told he would get me one but took them out because they were just dust collectors. I would not recomend it for bussiness or vacation or when visiting Kitchener. Even the locals said it was the worst place to stay. I wish I knew this before I booked it. Oh yes the address is not the one that is on Hotel.com. The address that the Hotel.com has is where Zehers is I am sure I would have had a better sleep on the floor in Zehers and a Continental breakfast a News paper. I won't go into the none Wireless internet. Enough of my complaints.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank rubarb_stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kitchener hotels

Western New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

I was in the Kitchener area on business and needed to stay just one night in the area. The Knights Inn was easy to find and pretty good if you're just looking for a place to lay your head for a night before moving on. The front desk was very friendly as well. If you're looking for high-class accommodations, then this probably isn't the place for you. Basically, it's for quick stays in the area, especially if you're on a budget. There are a few people who live there as well, just so you are aware. I was able to use the wireless and had a comfortable night so I had no complaints. It's not everyone's cup of tea though. Good stay for the rate.

  • Liked — Price, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Some noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 0RyGuy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

Three buildings (middle one of two stories) on three sides of parking area with fenced swimming pool in center (closes at 11 p.m.). Motel faces the freeway (route 8) and backs on the main road (Weber St.). Delightful, friendly manager. We had a spacious room, but it showed use and needed renovation. Housekeeping provided the absolute minimum service (emptied the trash bin).

Our large room included a kitchen area with two hotplates, bar fridge beneath, and kitchen sink; however, it included no pots, pans, crockery, cutlery or other utensils (in case you wanted to prepare food). The air conditioner worked well. Double-glazed windows and a tight seal around the entire door excluded noise from outside.

Our room (though not all other rooms) had double connecting doors which transmitted noise between the rooms (you could hear someone cough). Fortunately, during our visit the adjoining room had quiet guests which made our stay acceptable.

For breakfast, complimentary pastries, muffins and coffee were available in the reception office between 8 a.m. and 11 a.m., along with free copies of the Toronto Star.

Should the owners renovate (recommended), they ought to soundproof and seal off the connecting door openings (highly recommended). Frankly, only a small minority of guests would use them anyway.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful, cooperative manager; spacious room
  • Disliked — Connecting doors between rooms; poor maintenance and housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed at the Knights Inn on June 15, 2007 for one night. We had requested an early check in and it was graciously arranged. The front desk staff were amazingly helpfula and friendly. All the rooms do not have internet access and when we realized ours didn't they immediately offered another room. Since we had already showered we declined. The staff then offered to allow us to use another vacant room to just check our email. The room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the A/C was quiet and excellent. The bathroom could use some renovation but this property was probably built in the early 1960s. The rooms are being renovated which our room had new carpeting, wallpaper, bathroom tiles. The price was excellent $63.25+tax and we would definatley stay again. It is easy to access from the highway and the hotel website's directions are perfect. There is a Tim Horton's across the street and several other fast food locations near by.

  • Liked — Good value and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bathroom needs updating
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Nepean03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

I stayed at Knights Inn during my recent visit to kitchener. The room was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room had internet connection which was helpful in my case. Overall a good experience and good value.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Consultant74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

My pre-teen daughter and I stayed here to allow her to attend a local sporting event. We reviewed hotels on-line but actually booked the hotel/motel when we arrived and were able to look at the room.

We were pleased to find a very tidy, quite clean motel. There was no musty smell, the water tasted fine, and the bed was quite comfortable. In spite of proximity to busy traffic areas, we actually did not find noise to be obtrusive inside the room. The staff was courteous and helpful.

Really it was just what we wanted; a modest but comfortable place to sleep, no noisy parties or patrons running up and down the halls, reasonable price.

No complaints.

  • Liked — Value and cleanliness, nice staff.
  • Disliked — could use a coffee maker in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own kettle, but don't run too many items at once; blew a circuit braker.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mom'sTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitchener hotels
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
The Walper Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Kitchener

Property: Knights Inn Kitchener
Address: 1455 Weber St E, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Kitchener 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Kitchener Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Knights Inn
Knights Inn Kitchener Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing