We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A note worthy gem in KW”
Review of Marisol - CLOSED

Marisol
Cuisines: Mediterranean, American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kitchener
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A note worthy gem in KW”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner (sea bass and lamb) for a special anniversary. The staff and owner/chef were careful to note special dietary restrictions and presented a lovely dinner at a resonable price. Food is reminiscent of Portugal/Spain. Ambience is quiet with good jazz in the background - great for chatting with that special someone or a group of friends. Lounge up front is great for an after work/theatre drink. Small (about 15 tables) but worth taking the time to find in downtown KW.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food attentive staff!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a wonderful dinng experience at Marisol. Our server Ben was outstanding and took great care to ensure that we were well looked after. I ordered the Seabass and it was the very best I have ever tasted. My husband enjoyed his beef tenderloin as well very much. We were a group of 10 and everyone only had rave reviews for this delightful restaurant. Marital is very warm and welcoming, we will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A night in the Garden of Spain!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Delighted to have heard about this place. Also felt exterior looked like a demolition yard for old cars but the inside is nice. Nice menu- upscale Spanish. The selections are varied. Service was good and genuinely personable and sensitive to our own space. Had the hazelnut pesto scallops. Hard pressed to taste hazelnuts but chef listened to input and will perhaps change that a bit. My husband's lamb was tender- was to be medium rare but did come blue red. Loved my steak tartar- the best I have ever had! Dessert- a lemon sabayon type of thing was over the top delich! Octupus- grilled- smoky, tender- you have to like that sort of thing.They encourage you to order the sides you would favor over the chef's selection. Lot's of variety- go and enjoy this little Kitchener gem- Good Luck to the Chef!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JazCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“a gem!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Despite a rather industrial looking exterior facade (at first I thought it was boarded up), Marisol is warm and welcoming inside.
Friendly professional service, and a lovely menu.

We both had seafood and were impressed - simple presentation, impeccably fresh and tasty. I will definitely rturn!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kitchener-Waterloo finally has a top class restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We've been living in KW for four years now and have continued to be frustrated by the lack of really good restaurants. There are plenty of decent restaurants, Verses and Bhima's Warung stand out but there's also Sole, Nick and Nat's and 41 King to name just a few, but none of these have either the consistent quality of food and of service to make them stand out from the crowd. For a really good meal we've had to go to Toronto or Stratford, until now.

Marisol is first class. The food is simple Mediterranean done to perfection. I had steak tartare and sea bream while my wife had octopus and ossobuco and everything was absolutely delicious. The fish was the best I've eaten in Ontario and the ossobuco tasted like we were eating it in Milan. This was matched by four excellent wines from the short but obviously carefully chosen list and impeccable and knowledgeable service. On the evidence of this visit it is hands down the best restaurant in town, and finally what we've been searching for since we moved here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank olatjornbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisol also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing