We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in the Garden of Spain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marisol - CLOSED

Marisol
Cuisines: Mediterranean, American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A night in the Garden of Spain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Delighted to have heard about this place. Also felt exterior looked like a demolition yard for old cars but the inside is nice. Nice menu- upscale Spanish. The selections are varied. Service was good and genuinely personable and sensitive to our own space. Had the hazelnut pesto scallops. Hard pressed to taste hazelnuts but chef listened to input and will perhaps change that a bit. My husband's lamb was tender- was to be medium rare but did come blue red. Loved my steak tartar- the best I have ever had! Dessert- a lemon sabayon type of thing was over the top delich! Octupus- grilled- smoky, tender- you have to like that sort of thing.They encourage you to order the sides you would favor over the chef's selection. Lot's of variety- go and enjoy this little Kitchener gem- Good Luck to the Chef!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JazCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Despite a rather industrial looking exterior facade (at first I thought it was boarded up), Marisol is warm and welcoming inside.
Friendly professional service, and a lovely menu.

We both had seafood and were impressed - simple presentation, impeccably fresh and tasty. I will definitely rturn!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kitchener-Waterloo finally has a top class restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We've been living in KW for four years now and have continued to be frustrated by the lack of really good restaurants. There are plenty of decent restaurants, Verses and Bhima's Warung stand out but there's also Sole, Nick and Nat's and 41 King to name just a few, but none of these have either the consistent quality of food and of service to make them stand out from the crowd. For a really good meal we've had to go to Toronto or Stratford, until now.

Marisol is first class. The food is simple Mediterranean done to perfection. I had steak tartare and sea bream while my wife had octopus and ossobuco and everything was absolutely delicious. The fish was the best I've eaten in Ontario and the ossobuco tasted like we were eating it in Milan. This was matched by four excellent wines from the short but obviously carefully chosen list and impeccable and knowledgeable service. On the evidence of this visit it is hands down the best restaurant in town, and finally what we've been searching for since we moved here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank olatjornbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great tastes, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Even though we arrived late, the server welcomed us and as we had not been there before, explained the menu (changes every week!!!) and when asked, made some recommendations. It was late in the evening, so we decided to share 4 appetizers and a bottle of wine that the waiter paired with our food choice. We enjoyed every bite and every sip. We loved Marisol and look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MumaPhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisol also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing