We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first night our air conditioner didn't work so had a...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Reviewed July 17, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Geoffery M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was filthy, carpet dirty and sticky, walls dirty and sticky, sheets on the bed were damp, but the bathroom was disgusting, the bathub and walls were so dirty that I bought cleaner and cleaned the tile walls and bathtub and washed down the doors. Never seen such a disgusting place, given the fact that it was a Howard Johnson Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Joanna P,

Thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson Hotel Kitchener, I am terribly sorry that your accommodations were none less then satisfactory, If you would like to email us directly and give more details in regards to when you had stayed, the registered name that you had used I would like to look into this further as this is defiantly something I would like to fix and would like you to be happy and be a returning Howard Johnson Guest. If you would like to email me at hojoguest@yahoo.com I would like to investigate this further.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank subewankanobi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Horrible place. This was our first stay in Kitchener and this hotel was apparently a former university dorm (from what we were told). Well, it still is dorm decor with the old beds, desks,mattresses, bedding and old everything ... screamed dorm room. Nothing was changed probably since the 1970's. The carpets were filthy with huge questionable stains and chewed gum stuck to the carpet in our son's room. Above the deep freeze, yes, deep freeze ..... the wallpaper was stained with a dark substance that looked like someone threw their coffee or coke. The ceiling height heat or air exchange vent had either dirt or black mould on the vent and surrounding wall. The air conditioner worked but rattled noisily at a higher speed. Just as fast as we checked in, we checked out and went somewhere else. We were on vacation from out of province with our family and randomly picked a hotel, this hotel. This place needs to be shut down, gutted and properly renovated first. Some work was being done on the entrance of the lobby, however, the row of mailboxes in the lobby also screamed former dorm building. Management was genuinely shocked when we checked out and told them why. We were equally as shocked by their response. So we are back home now and I am still in disbelief and would never recommend this place in its current state. Management is obviously reading all the negative reviews and instead of wasting time responding to our reviews, maybe need to step away from their keyboards and pick up the phone and get contractors in to gut and renovate OR shut down till it's done. This COULD be a great place in time. Thanks.

Room Tip: The two rooms we booked were equally dated, dirty and in poor condition. Chewed gum stuck to the car...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Greetings

Thank you for writing a review, I am saddened to hear about your experience that you had while staying at the hotel you had went to.

Please note that I believe you may have written a review on the wrong hotel that you had stayed at.

At the Howard Johnson Kitchener we do not have mailboxes nor do we have mailboxes in the lobby of the hotel. The Howard Johnson Kitchener has never been a dorm for any college nor university students.

I am terribly sorry that you had not found your accommodations to be what you had expected. If you would like to give the Howard Johnson Kitchener a try we would gladly welcome you and your family. At the Howard Johnson Kitchener we have a large heated indoor pool, hot tub and gym along with daily continental breakfast.

Come give one of our rooms in the tower section a try! You will be quite content!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitchener hotels
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
703 reviews
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
291 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Knights Inn Kitchener
#10 of 14 in Kitchener
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Address: 1333 Weber St E, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range: $75 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing