We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga
Nearby Hotels
The Walper Hotel(Kitchener)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
$119
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Motel(Kitchener)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Motel(Kitchener)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
30
70
130
113
260
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
70
130
113
260
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 603 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have returned yearly to the HoJo because of the price and location. The hotel has improved over the past 8 years. Beds are comfortable and have been upgraded, rooms are clean and reasonably large, with inter connecting doors which makes couple get-to-gethers connvenient, The entrance is large and aethetically pleasing with receptionists friendly and welcoming. The parking is always easy and close with an under the canopy loading area.
However the bathrooms are a tad on the small size but more importantly the towels are too small and thin. When you have to dry yourself with two towels, it's kind of a joke.This has been a constant source of irritation and certainly would help improve their hotel image.
Finally thumbs up to the management for the improvemets so far, keeping the price very reasonable, breakfast included in the price, and hopefully by next fall more changes will have been made. Keep trying guys, we'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: We like the tower with the higher floors.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking time and writing a great review, I am glad to hear that you've enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. It has always been a great pleasure having you all stay with us right before the holidays. The fact that you all drive so far away to come participate in Operation Christmas Child really puts a smile on my face. You all are amazing people whom go above and beyond.
Thank you for pointing out a weakness or rather call it "place of improvement" I know we are not perfect however I do appreciate that you had enjoyed your stay and you are enjoying the updates as you see them yearly. I have brought it to the General Managers attention that it has been suggested bigger towels and can assure you that he is looking into it.

I want to wish you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year. Looking forward to seeing you again late November/Early December.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I go to Kitchener once a month and have been doing so for 9 months and usually stay at the Mayflower Motel b/c of it's price. But I have recently stayed at Howard Johnson and this is the place now on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank AMANDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

AMANDA N,

I am very glad to hear that you love our hotel, we strive to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. I am honored that you will continue to use our hotel on a monthly basis, we enjoy having you stay with us, you are a very pleasant and polite young lady.
We will strive to be your "home away from home".

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a safe 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
STRATFORD
25
Reviewed December 5, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
STONEY CREEK
2
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews