We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$105
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Embassy Motel(Kitchener)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$96
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
60
31
16
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
31
16
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelcoffee culturehotel is newly renovatedbarber shopmunicipal lotdowntown kitchenercoffee stationstir sticksmodern fixturesfront deskpublic parkingcocktail loungeberlin restaurantpaper baghandwritten notecoffee groundslocally roasted coffee
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

<3<3 pros <3<3
- friendly staff
- central location
- general cleanliness

<3<3 cons <3<3
- room lacked a full length mirror
- lacked basic amenities (i.e. toothbrush), I get that you're trying to save the earth but then maybe don't serve me water in cartons. last time i was in canada the water was safe for drinking...
- breakfast is not included, unlike other large hotels downtown there is no breakfast with the stay, in fact no breakfast at all on wkends, may be an extra cost in time/ energy if you're recovering from a long week out.
- no gym/pool/valet

<3<3 overall <3<3
beneath the scandi-inspired decor and the minimalist look, there are some fundamental things missing on the road to being a true classic (i.e. the W, Ace, etc.). An experience deduced to what it must feel like to buying a packet of ramen noodles with only the flavour packets - something feels lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domini B, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Hello Tian,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Walper. To clarify on a few of the items you've noted in your review, while we do not include breakfast in our guest room rates, we do have a la carte breakfast available in our Barrister's Lounge Monday to Friday, and Brunch in our restaurant, TWH Social available on Saturday and Sunday.
Valet is offered through our front desk, and while we do not have a fitness facility or pool on site, we do provide complimentary passes to Goodlife Fitness Facility, located one block from the hotel.
You've accurately stated that we are committed to reducing our impact on the environment but while we don't have toothbrushes on hand in our guest rooms, we do have these, and many other items that are often forgotten when travelling available through the front desk.
Thank you again for your feedback which I will share with our team. We are always looking for opportunities to exceed our guests' expectation, and you have outlined some great areas where we can improve. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again when you are next in the Kitchener area.

Sincerely,
Domini Baldasaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

I've spent more than my fair share of nights in hotels....everything from awful to awesome. This hotel is most definitely on the awesome end of the scale.

My room was spacious and very tastefully furnished. The bed: super comfy. Bathroom: as clean as a whistle and some lovely touches like small, handmade soap. The staff were great, check-in was a breeze.

But what set this hotel on a level far above most was that someone has clearly thought about the guest. If you're not following me, here's the kind of things I mean.

The in-room coffee making station: has a kettle where you can set the temperature so your coffee brews at the right temperature. And the coffee, filter, sugar and stir sticks are all in a little bag with a welcome message - written by a real person - addressed to you by name.

Need milk in your coffee? There's some in the fridge. That's right: not those stupidly annoying packages with powder creamer, junk coffee and a stir stick you cant get from this plastic nightmare that's jammed into a coffee cup. Real milk.

The power sockets have USB adapters built in (getting more common I know) but hey, a nice touch all the same. The bedside table outlet even has cable adapters so you can recharge your phone while you're sleeping (recharging).

You can mirror your phone to the TV as well. Brilliant ! I can play my downloaded show onto the room TV instead of watching some dude tell me how to cook 75 lbs of BBQ meat.

So there you have it. Someone has actually thought about this room and what guests want when on the road.

If only all hotels had this much forethought it'd make trips so much more enjoyable. They've set a standard by which other hotels will be measured....

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi Brian J,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay! We appreciate that you took the time to provide your feedback on your experience with us.

We had spent a lot of time while we were in renovations curating what we feel creates a fantastic guest experience, from the soaps to the tv's and coffee! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Great experience at the hotel with lots of personal touches. From the welcoming text the day before our stay to the very warm reception team when we arrived. The check-in was quick & efficient, and very friendly. The rooms are very clean, and modern, perfect for our one night stay - rate was excellent. Another personal touch, a welcome note with the coffee & tea. The front desk recommended their restaurant - TWS, and it did not disappoint, the food and service was top-notch. We really enjoyed our stay and appreciated the care and attention the hotel put into the renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi Aileen G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here. We really try to create a wonderful guest stay with the finer details, and are so pleased these stood out to you.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

We stayed in a Pocket King for one night - room was very good - just the right size room for a one night stay. The finishes were great - especially liked the light fixtures. Unfortunately, the coffee/tea was promised was never delivered - was looking forward to using the pour over (even after one call). On our way out, the Front Desk offered to give us coffee on the way out - nice gesture. Washroom was clean and spacious - there was no more shampoo from the dispenser, but quickly replaced when we left for dinner. Kitchener is trying to redevelop it's downtown and the renovated Walper Hotel is certainly a big effort in the revitalization process.

Room Tip: old building and old windows - if you wish for a quieter sleep and do not care about views, ask for courtyard facing room
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi BDT37,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Receiving feedback helps us to continually evolve and grow, and to improve on the level of service we offer our guests.

We are sorry to hear the coffee was never delivered and that the dispenser was not full as this is not the standard we adhere to. I can assure you this has been acknowledged and discussed with our ambassadors.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again when you visit the Kitchener-Waterloo area next. Our goal is to turn your four star stay into a 5-star plus!

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

After a few days planning a trip away to Port Dover we thought how nice it would be adventuring off the beaten path and since my wife just had knee surgery and was cooped up for weeks we figure let's get out of the house and explore places she hasn't visited in Canada.

Great until we booked this online with booking.com which we have used and NEVER have had an issue. We booked with my TD visa debit and received confirmation.

Can't use this card to pay? Can't hold incidentals with this card? $250 hold FYI which we were fine with. (Even offered for them to hold $1,000). We both had multiple forms of Identification but were treated like second class citizens.

This is Canada. they take my card in Cuba and Mexico and the Caribbean, that's kind of funny and we were perplexed.

After long day leaving Niagara at 7am touring around stoping here and there for breakfasts and lunch and little walks we arrive at The Walper Hotel, exhausted we just want to get into room and go to sleep.

It's 8 pm by this time.

Ok well what we do ? Nothing I can do.

Well what can we do? Nothing. I couldn't believe it!

No sympathy, completely rude, after a long day we were in no mood to fight.

Asked for manager, none
on duty, "I'll get her card you can call her tomorrow". Great,like that is a solution.
Claimed he was supervisor but could not do anything. This GSA was more interested in telling us how he worked in ASIA and abroad.

Finally, he said I can find you some where else to stay? Are you kidding me ? No thanks!

Drove away found nice hotel $100 cheaper WITH THE SAME
POLICY that said "we would love to have you", we will hold your incidentals on your card.

Having my own business and my wife in the exact same business in Niagara on the Lake with 3 boutique hotels, we were floored!

Worse experience ever.
This is how not to care for a customer.

The worst part is she really wanted to stay here and was excited to see "how other boutique hotels do it".

Ruined Saturday Night! Thank you Walper Hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi Brad G,

Thank you for your feedback.

We're sorry to hear that you were upset with your arrival experience. While our booking.com policy clearly stated that we require a credit card at the time of check in, we have further updated the details of this policy to specifically note that we are not able to accept visa debits as we are not able to pre-authorize this type of card to ensure total clarity.

Having undergone a 10-million dollar renovation, we are committed to delivering an exemplary guest experience, and this particular policy is one that our ambassadors are unable to overlook.

I'm sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced, and hope that we will have the opportunity to host you on another occasion.

Sincerely,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews