We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
108
116
54
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
108
116
54
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley aqua restaurant aqua lounge mini golf large hot tub ping pong rooms are spacious breakfast buffet great amenities king street pleasant stay front desk staff stayed here for one night king bed yogurt ben meredith
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 315 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019

I'm baffled at how this place has a 4.0 ratting. Unfortunately, I was in town for an event and had to stay at the Crowne Plaza as no other hotel was close enough to the venue. Staff were extremely rude, even prior to my arrival. I can't even tell you how many times I was hung up on. Every person I spoke with had different answers, but equally the same annoyed/negative attitude to have even been dealing with me or anyone else for that matter. Check-in was a mess - I was rushed and again made to feel as though I should not be asking clarifying questions. I was also charged an incorrect rate which had to be refunded to me. Heat and Air did not work, making sleeping conditions uncomfortable. The vent/fan in the bathroom did not work. Their were ants. Overall the room was mediocre in terms of being clean. The rooms are also the size of a shoe box with paper thin walls and door - we heard EVERYTHING.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jannv484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller827276, Martina G Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

jannv484,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. It is certainly not our intention to provide anything less than excellent customer service to our guests and it is very disappointing to hear that we did not do this for you during your experience. I would like to sincerely apologize to you for this matter and invite you back to stay with us again so that we may provide you with a perfect 5/5 stay the next time.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Room clean but needs renovation. Air Conditioning not working at all. Price for parking not on Web site until you put your Visa in and order the room. $35 bucks. Room stunk with cleaning spell more then likely to cover up possible mold because of the shower. Last we waited for the elevator when we were leaving for over 20 minutes . Why? because we were told they stop all 3 at one time to clean them. how stupid is that.

Room tip: Take a look at the price carefully. our stated at $129.00 and went up to over $200.00 which included the parking. Ridiculous.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safetyadvisorleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKitchener, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear Safetyadvisorleaf

Thank you for leaving us your review and for spending the night with Crowne Plaza Kitchener. We are grateful for your business with us.

We are sorry, if had not mentioned to you on the check in that there would be parking charges as any place in downtown does. The hotel was running on heat for the winter and Air conditioners are turned on in Summer.

We may not have gotten off the right foot but I'm positive to make it better for your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

...strange layout (need to leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find your way back to where you parked your car). Poor soft product....the shower head had an adjustment but wouldn't adjust so we had a 1" wide jet as the only option. Hair dryer didn't work, called FD, 15 minutes cleaning lady shows up, asks to try the hairdryer (why would I lie about a malfunctioning hairdryer??), then takes 10 more minutes to get another one that is barely hot. No go cups for the coffee in the room. Staff knocked on door in a.m when do not disturb sign was on. No water in property (not hotel's fault...city wide) but you had to pull teeth to get a bottle of water out of them to brush your teeth. Ever been to a property where everything is just nickle and dime, and customer service takes a big backseat to cost savings...that's how I felt staying here. Also downtown Kitchener is surprisingly dead at night with pretty much police and homeless as the main people I came across as I walked back to the hotel for dinner. Overall a very poor property, plus its the only Kitchener hotel that i know of that charges for parking.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margesmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller827276, Martina Gareau Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear Margesmister,
Please accept our sincerest apologies for not providing you with the excellent stay that you deserved. It disheartens us that we were unable to provide this for you and that you left with a bad impression of our hotel. Please do give us another chance to serve you again so that we may provide you with a perfect 5/5 stay the next time around.
Warm regards,
Martina Gareau
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Overall the hotel was modern, the pool was fun (lower level windows into pool view), gym had lots of equipment, and the location was good. Parking was decent (daily rate) but you do have to walk outside to access the lot.

Unfortunately, the room was VERY cramped (i.e. I asked for a cot and although they said they had one available, it wouldn't FIT in our room and they had no other rooms available that it would fit in). Apparently some bathrooms had tubs, but ours only had a stand up shower and was SUPER small plus there was no fan. The kids didn't have enough room to brush their teeth at the same time! Also, we didn't find the staff very friendly or helpful.

At this price rate, I would have expected better service and breakfast to be included.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller827276, Martina Gareau Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

M4PT,
Please accept our sincerest apologies at not meeting your expectations for an excellent stay. We are sorry to hear that you found the room to be cramped and the staff unfriendly and helpful. This is certainly not the guest experience that we strive to provide and for that I again apologize. We do hope that you give us another chance and stay with us again so that we may provide you with a perfect 5/5 stay the next time around.
Warm regards,
Martina Gareau
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Had a great corporate stay..i guess the best hotel in the area..better than walper for service and property... walper is just heritage but it seems to be old..
Crowne plaza offers a gr8 breakfast buffet with a lot of variety which is rare in this area.. cost effective and the staff is also polite and understanding.. they even adjusted my one night cancellation charges against my extended stay..
They are considerable as they represents a brand..
Imp info...just few steps away is an indian restuarant as well..

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Sakshi_Solanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller827276, Martina Gareau Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

Sakshi,
Thank you for your lovely comments and detailed review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoy your time with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Warm regards,
Martina Gareau
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews