We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was in town for work, and stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 4 nights. The hotel itself is going through some major renovations. The front desk/lobby was beautiful, nearly remodeled and easy to access. My room was also newly remodeled and was very nice. Just a couple things for improvement....the breakfast at the restaurant was horrible. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey, and the food tasted stale or even leftover from the previous day. Would not recommend eating onsite, as there are plenty of very nice eateries within walking distance. Additionally, the fitness area, whirlpool, pool and arcade felt fairly dated. But, the hotel is under renovation, so I would assume these would be updated, as the rest of the hotel is. Overall a GREAT stay and will be using the Crowne Plaza for all my business trips to Kitchener in the future!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Hop2It2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Hop2It2day,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy day to post a review about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your newly renovated room.

We are currently in the final stages of our renovations and are scheduled to have our restaurant/lounge open within the next few weeks. We are also going to be launching a new menu in the near future that will address your concerns about our breakfast items. We always have fresh food on the buffet and never use leftover food. I apologize that you did not enjoy it as much as we had liked you to.

Part of our fitness area has already been refreshed which includes brand new fitness equipment. The bowling lanes and mini putt area will be refreshed in the near future.

We look forward to your next stay with us on your next visit to Kitchener.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed along with 3 other friends in 3 rooms for the BigMusicFest in July. The newly renovated rooms were very nice. Beds were extremely comfortable. The one drawback to the room is the bathroom design. It is very small with no where to really put your travel kit. There is one small shelf and nothing around the sink. If you were traveling with kids, this would likely be a nightmare.

Staff - most were very friendly including the housekeeper I spoke with over the weekend. The one exception was 1 front desk agent who was rude not only to my group, but also to my daughter a few weeks later when she went to the hotel to pick up a lost and found item for me.

The hotel is still under renovations so there was no use of the pool or restaurant when we were there. That would not deter me from stayin here in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room - our friends overlooked the main street and found it quite a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMuirAGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear EMuirAGM,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your newly renovated guestroom and that you found it comfortable and the employees you encountered were friendly. I would like to apologize for the one individual you did interact with that was unfriendly and I would like to assure you additional coaching has taken place to deliver exceptional service to each and every guest.

Our restaurant and pool have been open and operational during our multimillion dollar renovation project. Our lounge is currently under renovations and is set to open early September.

Again we would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay when all of our renovations have been completed.

Sincerely,

Jenna,
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Have been visiting Kitchener/Waterloo for over 40 years. I know this hotel has had its ups and downs but so far the re-hab has made it very nice. We stayed this past weekend and the rooms are nice and updated. They are still indeed working on it so I can only imagine it will get better as they finish up. As someone else has pointed out that they were able to hear other people next door and in the hallway. I would have to agree with that. But at the same time I have yet to stay in any hotel that you were not able to hear your neighbors sometimes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ivash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Ivash,

Thank you for your recent review about your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We thank you for your loyalty to the property and are delighted that you love the new look and feel of the hotel.

We are in the final stages of completing our restaurant and lounge along with the back end of the hotel and are anticipating the opening in a few weeks time. We would love to have you come back and experience our new restaurant and menu when it opens.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to control the noise levels on our floors by other guests and have implemented 2 floors designated as Quiet Zones. On those floors, between the hours of 9pm and 10am, there is no housekeeping or maintenance activity unless specifically requested by a guest during Monday through Thursday stays.

In addition, we are in the process of placing a soundproofing barrier between adjoining doors so that guests are not able to hear their neighbors as much.

We welcome you back to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo on your next visit to Kitchener.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel was beautiful and had very comfortable beds. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would have given the hotel 5 stars, except for the fact that you could hear EVERYTHING happening in the other rooms. Not only could you hear everything in each room from the hallway, but once in your room, you could hear your neighbors' conversations (and activities). If you are looking for even the slightest bit of privacy, this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor- you can hear everything that happens in nearby rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marie3810407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Marie3810407,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We appreciate your feedback as it's the only way that we can ensure that we are meeting all our guest needs and expectations.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that you had a comfortable sleep on our new beds.

We have taken measures recently to improve the sound proofing between our guest rooms that have adjoining doors to ensure that guests are not able to hear their neighbors while in the room.

We also have 2 quiet floors that guests can request to be on during their stay with us from Monday through Thursday. We don't have housekeeping or any maintenance activity on those floors between the hours of 9pm and 10am for the comfort of our guests. We also do not block any groups on those floors to ensure noise levels are at a minimum. We acknowledge that there are guests who stay with us who are here to relax or are on business and would not like to be disturbed during those crucial hours.

We hope that you decide to return and stay with us on your next trip to Kitchener Waterloo.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel has been rebranded several times in the last few years and, as such, is no stranger to renovations.

As several other posters have commented, these updates are still a work in progress. The guest rooms are newly redone and nicely appointed; however, the meeting space hasn't been touched yet.

When my husband and I got married 9 years ago, the hotel was still a Four Points by Sheraton and we had our wedding reception there - and had absolutely no regrets, the staff were amazing and the locale really worked for us and our guests.

When a good friend asked me to be in her wedding party this year and she and her fiancé subsequently booked the Delta/Crowne Plaza for their reception, they were told that the reception room (Kitchener Room) would be completely redone before their wedding. A few months later, they were disappointed to learn that phase of the renovations wouldn't be completed in time after all. The space is comfortable, but does need a facelift to bring it up to the standards of the other areas of the hotel that have already had a makeover.

The food at the reception was good (3 course dinner compared to the 4 courses we had, and there was no champagne toast - although that could have been based on selections made by the bride and groom as opposed to wedding package offerings). The breakfast buffet wasn't extensive, but it was enough, and it was tasty, even the scrambled eggs which can sometimes be a bit iffy when being made in large quantities like that. The staff I encountered were all extremely helpful and friendly.

The guest rooms are clean and comfortable. I slept on a pull out couch in a King room and it was actually not too bad for a night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limonadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Limonadita,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener. We appreciate all guest feedback as we are always striving to go above our guests expectations.

We are in the final stages of the $12 million renovation project and our meeting space is the last phase. We are happy that you like our newly renovated rooms and that our staff were accommodating to you and your guests.

We are also delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We strive to provide the best quality of food to our guests at all times. When the new restaurant and lounge opens, we will be introducing a new menu that guests will truly enjoy even more.

We look forward to you coming back again to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel has been beautifully renovated, it's very sleek and modern. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I would have given them 5 out of 5 except for the fact the parking is pretty far away from the front lobby, which is a problem for people with disabilities like my husband. There were no elevators at the parking level and no access to the lobby except by walking several minutes outside down a laneway. This also makes it difficult and time consuming to drop off and pick up luggage, although the porter at the time was very friendly and helpful. Hopefully this will be rectified by the ongoing renovations.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear C P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We appreciate the feedback as we are always trying to better ourselves so that we can meet all the needs of guests such as yourself.

I am happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you thought the newly renovated room you stayed in was beautiful. Thank you for your comment about our Bellman being friendly and helpful during your stay. I will pass along the comments to our staff.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to accessing the hotel from the parking garage. We are in the final stages of completing our $12 million renovation and once that is complete, that issue will be eliminated as you would be able to enter the hotel through the side doors that are currently closed.

We look forward to your next visit to Kitchener and we hope that you decide to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in a very comfortable room with all the amenities. King size bed with a pull out bed if required. (blankets and pillows for pull out not sufficient. Hugely uncomfortable bed which collapsed in the middle) Its a pull out however, I get that. Very nice room for two people in a KS bed. Staff were helpful enough. So this site is under construction, but I did not know this when booking. We checked in at the lobby and our room was on the 9th floor in the tower. (?) So to get to the tower, you need to go up the elevator to the 4th floor, exit the elevator and walk down the full corridor to another elevator. From there you go up to the 9th floor. Parking is attached to the tower level but if you are coming back to your room, you have to go back to the main lobby so you can go up the elevator to the 4th floor and thru the corridor and up again. This meant you had to cross the laneway which was sketchy at best. In the morning there was a transient guy sleeping in the covered parking lot. (kind of unsettling) Pool was closed as in under construction closed, Restaurant closed when I saw it (hours are not accommodating). I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: stay at the holiday inn express - less money, no high end expectations, continental breakfast and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x-davcon-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear x-davcon-x,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo following your recent stay with us. We truly value feedback from each and every guest who stays with us and we use that feedback to continuously improve our products and service. We are happy to see that you found your newly renovated guestroom comfortable and the amenities to your liking. All of the furnishings in each and every guestroom are brand new and would like to apologize that you found your pull-put sofa bed uncomfortable. An extra blanket and pillow are located in the closet or the Front Desk is available to assist 24 hours a day if more are required.

We are currently wrapping up a multimillion dollar renovation project and apologize it had an impact getting to your guestroom. All of the renovations should be completed within the next few months. We would also like to apologize for the unexpected closure of the pool for one day. We had a health and safety concern arise that caused us to do an unscheduled closure of the pool to make the necessary repairs.

BotaniCa restaurant is open from 6:30am - 2:00pm for breakfast and lunch and again at 4:00pm - 11:00pm for dinner. We also offer in room dining 24 hours a day and a late night menu overnight for our guests convenience.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for giving an honest review of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future while in the Kitchener-Waterloo area.

Jenna
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
743 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walper Hotel
The Walper Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kitchener
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Kitchener-Waterloo
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kitchener
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
303 reviews
2.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo

Address: 105 King St E, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 2K8, Canada (Formerly Delta Kitchener-Waterloo)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener > City Commercial Core
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range: $105 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo is Kitchener's largest and premier full service hotel. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Kitchener, the Crowe Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo is the jewel of downtown, providing upscale accommodations and meetings/conference facilities. With a multi-million dollar renovation completed each guest room is a brand new room, offering our guest a luxurious stay. The Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo boasts 201 modernly designed guestrooms, 17 000 square feet of meeting/function space, onsite restaurant and lounge, indoor swimming pool, full fitness and recreation centre including two bowling lanes and mini putt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Kitchener-Waterloo Hotel Kitchener
Delta Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Delta Hotel
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing