We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best souvlaki in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside

Fireside
Ranked #28 of 528 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
kitchener
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best souvlaki in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My favorite restaurant because of how good the souvlaki is and the wait isnt long to get it and the restaurant is clean and really cool. The prices are okay

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lexadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    22
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
K-W
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice family place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food is hot and fresh, quite decent most of the time. I typically go for the breakfast as I think the breakfast is better and of a higher quality than the lunches there. Portions are huge, so while it can be a bit pricey for some items, the portions make the prices reasonable in the end - be sure to go when you're hungry and can eat a fair amount!

I don't think I've ever had a bad service in all the times I've been there - the serving staff are professional and do their jobs well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My guest and I have being to the Fireside three times in the last two months. Twice for lunch and once for breakfast. Service was fast and helpful, the food was very well prepared with a little bit of a Greek influence in it. Plenty to fill you up and everything fresh and well seasoned. I was very happy to find that they served smoked salmon eggs Benedict and, according to the waitress, they used home made smoked salmon. True or not, it was of high quality and plentiful. Little things like the accompanied cream cheese in a tub for the smoked salmon and nice salad to fill up the lunch plate make this place one of the best eateries in K/W. Now that Zekes (where you could get the best ribs and wings anywhere) is closed we will be using the Fireside as our place to go for birthdays etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fireside Feasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Fireside Restaurant in Kitchener on Ottawa Street features quality breakfast/lunch/supper food at reasonable prices in more than you can eat quantities. This is not a gourmet restaurant in the traditional sense, but the home-style cooking is every bit as tasty, including their own in-house salad dressings. Their sandwiches - club, Reuben, etc. - are piled high with meat and usually require a "doggy bag" for the portion you can't finish. And their meal-size salads - Caesars, Cobbs, etc. - are loaded with ingredients and overflow the large bowls in which they're served. Definite value for your dollar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We will never eat here again. My lettuce was brown, the food was greasy it upset out tummy's and my husbands wings were definitely not made to order. The service wasn't even that good to make up for it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing