We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night Out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Library Restaurant

The Library Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 82 Restaurants in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Night Out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

It's rare for a casual fine dining establishment to be open on Monday, that's what initially brought us here. We were happy we came - great restaurant!

Atmosphere was beautiful (mind you a little cold sitting by the windows during winter months). Service was quick, friendly and comfortable. Food was great! Prices were very reasonable (was expecting to pay much more).

Overall a great night! We'll be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank WyevaleWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The historic building is charming and the food was excellent. The menu had a really great variety of choices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Valentines Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was a very nice restaurant the food was good, but it was a very busy evening and they were understaffed so we wait for our meal. The staff were doing the best they could so it was good that we were not in a hurry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service and overpriced, mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have given this restaurant several chances and will not be returning. We brought out of town guests here for dinner and were frankly embarrassed by the rude and inconsistent service. We didn't have a designated server, which led to confusion, and our dinner order wasn't taken for 45 minutes. Another 45 minutes later our appetizers arrived. During this long wait we had to flag one of the servers down to ask about the status of our meal. The food was incredibly salty, and the beef was sour and burnt - nearly inedible. Towards the end of the meal one server did make more of an effort to be attentive, but it was too little, too late. There are several friendlier and more reliable restaurants in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After waiting an hour and a half, and being made feel the wait was our fault, our mediocre meals arrived.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Although the atmosphere was pleasant and the food was satisfactory, the service provided by the entire staff was very cold and non attentive. We recieved water to start but were never offered other beverages. As the restraint filled up, families coming in after us, and leaving before us, we wondered if our food was going to arrive. After an hour and a half wait the food arrive. We scarfed down oour mediocre food and ran out the door to try and make our entertainment for the evening.
Overall an unpleasant experience. Please improve.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidAndersonSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Library Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Library Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing