We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures shown are better than the reality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1875 A Charters Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Midland B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a boutique priced B&B but the finished off decor in the room we had was poorly done. The bed was a small English type double with side tables either side that you would turn over and bang into! Only had a bath in our room, it did have a shower attachment on the tap, but that could get messy! The bottom of the bath was rough and needed to be re enameled. The breakfasts are lovely though and he can advise you on most things,a very friendly and affabl chap,it's just that the rooms in themselves didn't live up to the price we had to pay. At the moment there is considerable road works and tree felling going on outside this B&B, no fault of the host,but it looks like an asteroid hit this road,the front of the B&B is tatty,stairs to front door uprooted and cracked,not a good first impression. It's hard when you liked the hot but the accommodation doesn't live up to the price you are asked to py and quite honestly it comes down to value for money and comfort.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. When we arrived people did just that after failing to negotiate a better price or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenniscrumoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartersinn, Owner at 1875 A Charters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for your review. Some of your concerns have now been handled and we are striving to perfect anything we can. I do hope you will visit us again. Gerry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

We found this BnB at the local tourist information. Gerry made us feel very welcome, giving us a tour around the house and the facilities available. Breakfast was lovely, Gerry was clearly passionate about his food and keeping his guests comfortable and happy. We had a lovely stay, and will be booking in here on any future visits.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. All rooms are a good size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

On my first visit to Charters Inn, Gerry made me feel right at home. And I've been back several times. His guest rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable; each one is different. The Inn
is on a quiet residential street but centrally located. Gerry can provide information on anything I need to know about the area - shops, restaurants, sites worth visiting. For me, an advantage is that the Inn is close to my favourite dining spot - the Explorer Restaurant. Gerry and his charming wife have always welcomed me warmly, and create an informal and relaxed atmosphere. The best part? - the fabulous breakfast! Those blueberry pancakes are scrumptious. It's my home base whenever I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Each room is different in terms of size, beds, and other furnishings. So, your choice would depend o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterBroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while travelling through Ontario... And were directed here by the Centre of Commerce in Midland because of the breakfast.
Well... it didn't disappoint! The "All Senses", or the Wild Blueberry pancakes... I wouldn't know what tasted better. We took the smallest room, which meant a bathroom downstairs, but if that's not a problem, yoú definitely have to check this one out. And the shower is one of those "rainfall" jobbies, so no worries!

Gerry himself is quite a character, and if you're looking for a quiet, unobtrusive owner, you won't find it here. But he can tell you all kinds of stories, while sitting in the back yard, enjoying the end of the day. And if you like fishing: he's your man!

Room Tip: Haggling isn't a problem! especially midweek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Gerry Lesperence is some cook! Great rooms, very nice host and nice, quiet atmosphere. Ask him how he lost loads of weight just by cooking certain foods (not the ones you'd think). I'll go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

located close to center of Midland, but quiet and pieceful. We stayed there for 3 nights in the "captain's sute". Having the fireplace available was pretty nice. Room was clean, large and had direct access to the garden.
Most impressive was the breakfast which we really enjoyed each morning. Oeuf Benedict, frehs fruit and pancakes in amazing quality - we surely will pay a visit to Gerry again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V_andy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed with Gerry for a weekend in May/2011. The host made our stay very enjoyable. The room was good, and the breakfast was excellent. There is a large outdoor patio with an attractive garden if you want to enjoy a lazy afternoon or breakfast in the fresh air. The B&B is located easy walking distance to some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2oson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
1 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#4 of 8 in Midland
50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Midland
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Midland
Super 8 Midland
#2 of 8 in Midland
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#3 of 9 in Midland
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1875 A Charters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1875 A Charters Inn

Address: 290 Second St, Midland, Ontario L4R 3R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Midland
Price Range: $111 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1875 A Charters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 1875 A Charters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1875 A Charters Inn Midland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing