We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience surpassed my expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1875 A Charters Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Midland B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2011

During early May, I and my family stayed with Gerry almost a week. Gerry is a superb host. Each morning's breakfast was a different delight, served beautifully, in the garden. We enjoyed long leisurely moments with wonderful food and conversation. Our family is accustomed to walking as much as possible and Charters is an easy walk from the marina/shore and from the Main street of Midland. We felt very happy to wonder 'into' the centre of town whenever we wanted. We enjoyed walking to different restaurants for dinner. We ate well and at a reasonable cost. We had lovely weather and we lucky to get out on the water. Gerry took us by boat to get a view of the lake and some of Beausoleil Island. It is huge. We walked around Honey Harbour. We stopped to see Honeymoon Bay and Frying Pan Bay. The Group of Seven rank among my favourites and it was thrilling to be able to be in the landscape that inspired them. I was also pleased to see that the town of Midland are building a new art school for the community. We went to see the town of Petang and their wonderful museum (C. Beck's store). The family did some other "sights" by car.

Thank you Gerry for all the lovely food, the fun (!!,) and for sharing his wonderful home with us. We came exhausted to stay with you and at the end of a week left relaxed and happy.
If it had been possible to stay longer, we would have. (so we hope to return)

Room Tip: Charters 1875 is located in a quiet street.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean_colson_at_mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for 1875 A Charters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed for a week at this cozy Bed and Breakfast with a beautiful patio area (with big hammock) for sunny days and a fireplace in my room for cooler nights. Room was lovely, nicely furnished and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts were amazing!! - great variety, fresh and fancy, so delicious! Service was wonderful. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breitbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I was judging a music competition for 4 days in this area, and was very privileged to be staying at this delightful B&B. Never have I been so gloriously fed on any business trip, anywhere! Beautiful garden setting, lots of peace and quiet, cozy fireplace and great hosts made me feel like I was on a vacation, instead of a work trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The host Gerry was fantastic, the breakfasts were great, right down to homemade maple syrup. Dinners were optional extras and well worth it if tired. Did I mention the boat and fishing? Being less than two blocks from downtown made it convenient for shopping, dining out and staying out late! What could be better than staying in a house more than 100 years old, with a great host who serves food that really is "off the land".

Highly recommended to any and all. I think he speaks french too...

Room Tip: Gerry will fit a room to your needs
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Gerry Lesperance's 1875 Charter Inn bed and breakfast is wonderful. The room was well appointed and Gerry's personal service and personable demeanour made my stay very comfortable and his breakfasts are served fresh and with a smileand great conversation!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night in April, in the Captain's Quarters. The room was absolutely spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Having it's own private entrance and parking meant that we could come and go easily. A short 2 minute walk to the main high street and restaurants makes this location perfect. Gerry's breakfast was interesting and very tasty, and he clearly takes a great deal of pride in his house and his cooking. Thank you Gerry.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalhamBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

A beautiful old house in the heart of Midland with a cozy room (we had the Captain's Quarters Suite) with private entrance, fireplace and comfy bed. Gerry's "sensory" breakfast was incredible and healthy (yes! it is possible!!!). We enjoyed the entire experience and would stay there again....in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharona022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
521 reviews
1.7 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Midland
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#4 of 8 in Midland
48 reviews
9.0 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Midland
Super 8 Midland
#2 of 8 in Midland
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1875 A Charters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1875 A Charters Inn

Address: 290 Second St, Midland, Ontario L4R 3R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Midland
Price Range: $118 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1875 A Charters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1875 A Charters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1875 A Charters Inn Midland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing