We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold MOTEL room, dirty tap water & rodents - This is the #1 hotel in Midland?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold MOTEL room, dirty tap water & rodents - This is the #1 hotel in Midland?”
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My wife, our infant son and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and were not impressed.
Be careful when you book your room! We unknowingly booked an "Annex" room, not knowing what this was (there is no explanation on the website as to what this means). It is a group of rooms in an old "motel" situated on the hotel property, behind the kitchen. I am sure that the rest of the hotel is lovely but beware the back building.
Rather than going back to the front desk to ask to be moved into the main building we decided to stick it out, much to our regret. For one thing, if you want ice, you would have to stroll through the snow, around to the front of the hotel, through the lobby and up to the 3rd floor, then make the return trip.

Upon entering the room it was freezing cold! We were hoping to put the baby to sleep right away but we had to crank the heat and go for dinner for a few hours to allow the room to warm up, after I made some minor repairs to the baseboard heater in the bathroom as there were parts lying on the floor (this would have been another good oportunity for us to call the front desk - I suppose). The heater also needed to be adjusted several times through the night to keep the room comfortable.
After dinner at the Kelsey's across the street (excellent service on a very busy night by the way) my wife went into the bathroom in our room to wash up. A large quantity of SAND came out of the taps with the water. Another trip out to get some bottled water.
When we woke up in the morning we called and asked for a late checkout which was granted without question. I decided to have a quick shower but when I grabbed the bar of soap off of the counter I noticed that the wrapper had been chewed through by some sort of rodent.

I cannot stress enough - if you choose to stay in this hotel make sure you don't wind up out in the back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CdnTrvlr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    125
    110
    57
    21
See reviews for
160
117
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

POSITIVE

Big room and extremely big bathroom. Clean.
Breakfast included on the price.
Free parking.

NEGATIVE

Internet’s signal was too weak to be picked up on the room – had to go to the lobby to use my laptop.
Ugly location – at least compared to the rest of midland. About 5 minutes drive from the lake.
“Pool smell” on the corridors and lobby. The breakfast was served on the pool area as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mute_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Nice hotel, Nice staff, Nice rooms. There is really nothing much to add to the good reviews this hotel has already gotten. We booked one of the suites recently and were very impressed, The suite was big, clean and spacious. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaffa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed here 1 night September 2009, touring Ontario/Quebec. Good access from road network. Good size nicely appointed room - 2 queen beds. Free continental breakfast. Free wifi. Helpful staff. Chinese buffet within walking distance. Main part of town a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelstar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel is very nice. The room we had was average, with extremely comfortable beds. The Georgian Bay Getaway rate was excellent, and this included a free continental breakfast (weekdays only), which included the usual breakfast items (hot items, such as eggs and bacon, could be added for $3.99 per person). The pool and hot tub were nice, although not overly large. There is a computer located in the lobby for guests to use. There are a couple of restaurants on-site, byt we didn't try them. The hotel is in a good location, very near restaurants, fast food and shopping, as well as tourist sites such as Saint Marie Among the Hurons and Discovery Harbour. There are also several excellent museums in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Good location. It is at the corner of the main st, and the main highway. We spent a night there with 2 young kids. They loved the indoor pool. The hotel is clean and the rooms were well looked after. The place is a bit of a maze to find your way around and it is somewhat dated and starting to show it's age.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake8660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I travel for business and stayed at the Best Western for one night. During the same week I also stayed at the Days Inn in Collingwood and the Travelodge in Bracebridge.

I have also stayed in my share of hotel rooms over the last year including several in Toronto.

My room was large, nicely decorated, clean. I have to say the room at The Best Western was exceptional. For the price, you can't go wrong. V

Very nice continental breakfast was included.

A couple of things that were not as good...
- fitness room small
- access to my floor by stairs only. (at least thats all I could find)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Midland
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#5 of 8 in Midland
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
282 reviews
24.3 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
9.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 924 King St, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Conference Centre offers abundant amenities and convenient access to local attractions & corporate offices. Those on a Midland vacation can enjoy convenient access to the Martyrs Shrine, Elmvale Jungle Zoo, Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons, Wye Marsh Wildlife Centre, Discovery Harbour and many more local attractions. Indulge in some retail therapy near this Midland, ON hotel at the shops in Downtown Midland. Choose from a well-appointed standard room or one of our suites at this Midland, ON hotel. Guests can relax after a day of sightseeing or working in spacious, non-smoking rooms that offer cable television, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a desk and much more. Guests can also enjoy relaxing in the indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna located in the stunning Garden Atrium, surrounded by the lush gardens. Get work done in the business center, blow off some steam at the exercise facility or enjoy a meal at the 12 West Grill + Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Midland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing