We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Tillsonburg, Canada
1 review
“Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were very happy with our stay. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. I would stay here again. Our daughter loved swimming in the pool and she couldn't wait to go in. In the morning after breakfast, she wanted to go in again. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very friendly. It is easy to find and it was convenient that there were other restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We were delighted to read your comments on your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. .

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    123
    108
    57
    21
See reviews for
160
116
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Located in a quiet spot and just off the road. Walls and wood furniture in lobby and breakfast area tend to make everything look dark. Close to lake and town center. Front-desk Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Internet service was good. Breakfast area was spacious and kept clean by attendants. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the pool area, some rooms have a view of the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YZpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,
It is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this is a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to stay especially if you have children or in our case grandchildren. Our granddaughter just loves this place because of the big warm pool, and the morning buffet breakfast. On this occasion, we booked two rooms one for our daughter & granddaughter and one for our selves. They were side by side which made it easy to go back and forth between rooms. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and quiet. It was also nice to be able to open a window, and not have the air conditioner on. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.

The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor and highlighting the areas you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend after a wedding. I read the reviews on-line and was very impressed over all. I have family living in the area and their comments about this hotel have always been positive.

The hotel was nice enough: it is clearly a place where people with money go to be pampered. This is not a place for people pinching pennies. If my parents hadn't helped us to cover the cost, I would not have been able to stay there.

The grounds were nice; well taken care of with a planted flower garden. The main doors are automated (sliding), and this is it for the rest of the building. The main entrance is covered, and you can drive right up to it if you need to.

There are no other door openers/automated systems in place. All the rest of the doorways have heavy metal doors (with closers that are very fast). You will either need someone to help you or basically be Superman in a wheelchair. Front desk staff did not offer to help (I assume they thought my boyfriend would take care of it - which he did - but the offer would have been nice.

The hotel is HUGE. Walking from the check-in desk to our room (I was on crutches that day) exhausted me. I would have used a transfer chair just to get there (had they offered one). By the time we reached our room, I was drenched in sweat and my very elaborate up-do was falling apart from the exertion (and sweat) of the walk. All of the hallways are carpeted. I assume that this is to assist with noise reduction, but I can say that it definitely made my trek a lot harder.

There are no elevators to speak of (which I find odd for a "high-end" hotel like this) so they moved us to a room on the main floor. I have also been to this hotel for other occasions (using their party rooms). We have had to have my wheelchair carried down the stairs (neither occasion with me in it) and back up again due to a lack of elevator access. Be sure when you book, to ask for a room on the main floor, if you require access.

Walking to the room, you could smell the pool from down the hall. The smell of chlorine is very, very strong. If you have scent sensitivities, be aware.

Bathrooms in the hotel rooms are small, with extremely high bath tubs. You will need someone to help you in and out if you do not manage to book a wheelchair accessible suite (there is only *one* and it was already booked when we got there, according to desk clerk.

Bathrooms allocated to event spaces indicate that they are wheelchair accessible, but actually are not. They don't even come close. The doorways are extremely narrow. It took some precision turning, (plus assistance from an attendant) just to get in the door. And all the while, my chair is rubbing on the door frame - both sides - that is how narrow it is! Once inside, the "wheelchair" stalls are not big enough for wheelchair plus person plus attendant. It was barely big enough for wheelchair plus person and even then I couldn't close the door and had to pee for an audience.

Beds in the room are *very* high off of the ground. Chair to bed transfers are next to impossible. I basically had to throw myself into bed and have my attendant lift my legs while "wheelbarrowing" into bed. Extremely undignified and potentially disastrous if you need to get up in the middle of the night to pee. It means that someone has to get up with you and you get to do some middle of the night aerobics to get into bed.

There is space between the two beds for a wheelchair (it will be tight), but it is narrower on the sides.

When checking out, we were asked about our stay. Clerk seemed sympathetic to accessibility challenges, but didn't seem particularly interested in changing the situation or offering solutions to us.

For the money we paid to stay, I was disappointed. I have stayed at other hotels in the Midland area (less expensive than this) with better accessibility. If I absolutely had to, I would stay here again. But I can't see a situation where that would be necessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor if you require wheelchair access; this building has NO public eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheelTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback on Trip advisor.
We are sorry to hear that due to the building structure you had difficulty and limited movement around the hotel.
We appreciate your comments which help us improve our services.
Thank you and Best Regards,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great facility, friendly staff, great included facility and close to all tourist attractions. The Best Western Plus Highland Inn and Conference Centre very well equipped to have a large party and equally great for a couples. Five minutes away from the very famous Martyrs Shrine. A must to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,
It is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this is a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great accommodation. We had a family suite. Very large and spacious. The bathroom and room was clean and comfortable. Even better was the service. The only issue were the stairs otherwise all good. Pool and hot tub was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andresteffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.

The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor and highlighting the areas you liked during your stay.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel staff did their best to accommodate a room with Jacuzzi, as promised in the forms. The rate remained the same, which was great! Clean room, prompt room service and daily change of towels, and sheets when needed. The pool and the hot tub at the hotel are great when the weather is bad. Breakfast was prepared fresh, and we had plenty of options (hot, fresh, bakery, fruits, etc...) Awesome overall experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Teodora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us.

The biggest compliment you could pay to all of us at the Best Western in Midland is that you found our staff professional and you had a very nice experience and successful stay. We know that today, no matter where it be, this is what makes the difference.

We look forward to having the pleasure of having you with us once again very soon.

Very sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#6 of 8 in Midland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
24.3 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 924 King St, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre offers abundant amenities and convenient access to local attractions & corporate offices. Those on a Midland vacation can enjoy convenient access to the Martyrs Shrine, Elmvale Jungle Zoo, Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons, Wye Marsh Wildlife Centre, Discovery Harbour and many more local attractions. Indulge in some retail therapy near this Midland, ON hotel at the shops in Downtown Midland. Choose from a well-appointed standard room or one of our suites at this Midland, ON hotel. Guests can relax after a day of sightseeing or working in spacious, non-smoking rooms that offer cable television, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a desk and much more. Guests can also enjoy relaxing in the indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna located in the stunning Garden Atrium, surrounded by the lush gardens. Get work done in the business center, blow off some steam at the exercise facility or enjoy a meal at the 12 West Grill + Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre Midland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing