We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Holy Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martyrs' Shrine

Martyrs' Shrine
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Martyrs' Shrine is currently closed for the season. Thank you to everyone who visited, prayed, shared and enjoyed this beautiful sacred place in 2015. We are set to reopen Saturday, May 7th, 2016.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a Holy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

A beautiful peaceful Church where I stopped to go to Mass and awe inspiring lives of the martyrs that helped the Indians there Always stop there for Mass when in the area. Would love to go back from the states jude to make a pilgrimage

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindafromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    56
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pilgrimage site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

As a practicing Catholic, I've always wanted to visit this shrine. Church is beautiful. Lovely stained glass windows. Being able to honor the Canadian martyrs was such a blessing. However, there's a $5 pp charge which I found strange. I've never been to a shrine where you couldn't visit without paying a fee. The grounds are beautiful, but I was not aware that there are memorials for folks from all over the world, not just the Canadian martyrs. Very hilly. I was not aware that there are parking areas on the top of the hill. Wear good walking shoes. The relics are in the side chapels of the main chapel. It's easy to miss if there's a mass or other service going on. It's ok to walk around to see them if there's a service taking place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The grounds and gardens are beautiful. A lovely view of the surrounding area can be seen from many vantage points. The church is beautiful inside and out. We went inside and caught the last 15 mins of the Sunday service.

Helpful?
Thank beaskneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved this event.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I loved walking around the grounds. They are beautiful and so well groomed . There is so much room to take kids to run , have a picnic and just enjoy the space. Pope John Paul11 was there in 1984 and there is an amazing virgin mary surrounded with the rosary.

The new saint Katri Tekakwitha displayed with such beauty and grace. She is in a beautiful stain glass window in the church , along with a sculpture and flowers, outside. The entrance fee of 4 dollars covers the grounds and the cost to enter. There is an amazing Irish gardens also. Parking is ample and the day we were there, there was a pilgrimage and despite the number of people, it did not appear crowded.

If your are visiting the St. Marie among the Hurons across the road. There is a walkway under the road from this to go to the shrine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAngelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tamil Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were in Midland for Bike Week and visited this multi-shrine place. There were many Tamils there celebrating their shrine. Very interesting place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martyrs' Shrine also viewed

 

Been to Martyrs' Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing