We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Midland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
1 review
“Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Our grown children booked us in for the weekend as a surprise 35th anniversary gift. Beacon Shore is a beautiful B & B located down a winding tree lined road a few miles out of the town of Midland.
Right on Georgian Bay, it has its own dock with a view of several islands and is within sight of Georgian Bay Islands National Park. Guests can sit on comfortable chairs and enjoy the bay. There is a decommissioned lighthouse on the grounds from which the B & B takes its name.
Our large suite had a view of the Bay from one window and the woods from another. It had a large private bathroom and the entire suite was tastefully decorated making it feel light and airy.
Breakfasts were an event starting with Bob's famous fruit salad and then continuing with a selection of several different main courses. Jacquie must have been a chef in an earlier life as the food was really delicious and beautifully presented.
Jacquie and Bob made us feel like we were friends on a visit rather than paying guests.

  • Liked — On Georgian Bay, very friendly service
  • Disliked — a bit far from town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
149
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Claire, Quebec
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I had occasion to return to the Midland area and re-visited the Beacon Shore Bed and Breakfast. Happily, I found it as lovely and welcoming as my previous visit. The room was spotless, the breakfasts delicious and the hosts, Jacquie and Bob, were charming and full of suggestions of things- to-do and places-to-visit in the area.

  • Liked — cleanliness, view, hosts, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wildrose44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I've just returned from 3 days at the Beacon Shore B&B in Midland, Ontario. I stayed in the one of three rooms without a view. But, there are terrific views of Georgian Bay from the Muskoka chairs on the grounds, in the flower garden, at the end of the private dock. The B&B was spotless, each room had it's own bathroom, rate for my room was $80 Canadian per night inclusive. The other two rooms with views are $95-125 for two. Breakfast was delicious and enough food to get me to dinner, as well as having a printed menu with choices. The hosts (Bob and Jackie) are informed, friendly, happy to sit and chat for a while. I was visiting friends who had a boat moored close by who were a bit jealous of my lovely surroundings. Plan to take a day just to wander the grounds and sit on the dock.

  • Liked — The location and view, engaging hosts, plus wonderful breakfasts
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amber70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hd
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2008

This place is fabulous for all those who look for a quiet relaxing time at Georgian Bay. The view, the breakfast, the private dock, the landlords - everything was high above average!
THANK YOU so much!

K&M

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank katiinkanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We spent a weekend at Beacon Shore while attending a wedding nearby, rather than paying through the nose to stay at a run-of-the-mill chain motel. We picked Beacon Shore in part because of its location overlooking Georgian Bay. As it turned out, not only was the location enchanting but so were Bob and Jacquie - genuinely nice people who we will look forward to seeing again. The day we arrived was hot and humid so we took advantage of their private dock to have a swim in the bay. Our room was beautifully maintained, breakfast was memorable and Jacquie's gardens must be seen to be believed. All in all a wonderful spot to which we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kenruth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cultus Lake, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

From the moment we arrived at Beacon Shore, we were made to feel most welcome by our hosts, Jacquie and Bob.
Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable and the private bath was appreciated. We had a fabulous view of the grounds and Georgian Bay from our window.
Each morning we ate our breakfast out on the patio and got much enjoyment from the creative table settings, not to mention the delicious food - I can highly recommend the 'Captain's Casserole'! The patio was also a good vantage point from which to view the old lighthouse, Georgian Bay, and Jacquie's beautiful English-style garden.
Beacon Shore is everything it advertises and more. The extremely reasonable rates, beautiful surroundings, fabulous food and gracious hosts make this a definite "5-star" accommodation!

Nigel and Heather Lennie
Cultus Lake, B.C.
Canada

  • Liked — ambience, food, hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henna_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Deciding to visit the Midland area, we again looked to the Janette Higgin's B&B recommendations and review to find Beacon Shore. We were graciously greeted and welcomed by our hosts, Jacquie and Bob Black. Jacquie gave us a tour of the property and her beautiful home. The property is located on a shoreline bluff above Georgian Bay and views are spectacular. We stayed in the Queen suite and found our accomodation very comfortable. Breakfast is served in the sun room where we enjoyed the view of the garden area, a delicious meal and informative conversation with our hosts. Local attractions abound in the Midland area. We enjoyed a golf day at Brooklea Golf Club and followed up with a boat tour of Georgian Bay on the Miss Midland. We are looking forward to our next visit to Beacon Shore in August 2008.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, hospitality
  • Disliked — no opinion
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inexcess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.1 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
24.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#3 of 8 in Midland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 128 Midland Point Rd, Midland, Ontario L4R 5H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast Midland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing