We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day camp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huronia Museum & Ouendat Village

Huronia Museum & Ouendat Village
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Midland
Attraction details
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I think it's an awesome museum and I appreciate what it brings to our community. My child had a great time at the day camp this summer and we will be returning again this summer. The staff is incredible and fun.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Close to New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fascinating place, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

A really good museum, well worth a trip. The outdoor Huron village recreation was excellent (although I wish they had plaques to tell you what you were seeing instead of a handout which was sometimes hard to figure out). The indoor museum had a wonderful exhibit of paintings plus a large and very fascinating collection of local historical artifacts. My husband enjoyed the shipping and military sections, while I was very taken with the household and clothing exhibits. Also a large collection of Huron/Ojibwa artifacts and information on the archeological history. Nice gift shop, too. Excellent place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Midlandpark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

The Huronia Museum and Ouendat Village are located about 2 hours outside of Toronto, and well worth the trip. The museum is dedicated to the area, especially maritime, as this area was a port for Europe. The village is smallish but very interesting. There are many structures to examing, with a map to tell you what each was used for. If you're nearby, stop here and at the other village nearby, Saint Marie among the Hurons. You'll like it.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank barrythewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We picked up a brochure for this museum at our hotel and decided to give it a try since we were in the area. We were very happy that we did. They have a nice outdoor village recreation as well as a great assortment of historic artifacts, much more than we expected. The gift shop has an extensive book selection as well. Well worth the time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Virtio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Kept Seceret in Midland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

This small regional museum is without a doubt the best kept little seceret in town. Nestled in a beautiful park in the center of town,it has one of the most extensive collections of Franz Johnson(Member Of Group Of Seven) paintings in Canada. The museum also has a very large and extensive collection of historic photographs of historical interest of the area by JW Bald, Bud Watson and has access to the collection for research. Included with this museum is the reconstuction of a typical Huron Indian Village which launches people back into the early 16th century. This is a must see for all people seeking to understand the history and heritage of the Georgian Bay area

Helpful?
2 Thank mrredboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huronia Museum & Ouendat Village also viewed

 

Been to Huronia Museum & Ouendat Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing