We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Restaurant”
Review of Villa Risi

Villa Risi
Ranked #52 of 283 Restaurants in Newmarket
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Family Restaurant”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I've been here any times and have always had a good meal. Reasonably priced - best bruschetta anywhere ! Peter and his family have done a fine job at making this an enjoyable dining experience. Kudos to all of them. Always know that it's value for the dollar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Disappointment”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Based on several previous positive experiences at this place, we decided to try it for Valentine's Day - an important occasion. What a mistake! Rather than ordering the three-course special, we ordered from the abbreviated menu. My wife had a chicken dish, while I went with the veal. I would be embarrassed to serve such small portions to a guest. My two pieces of veal were very thin, and veggies consisted of two small pieces of potato, three carrot wheels, one small broccoli floret and one small cauliflower floret. My wife's chicken was slightly larger, and accompanied by the same child's portion of veggies. Both dishes were barely warm, and were cold by the time we finished. Some tables were served bread - we were not. To add insult to injury, the owner jacked up the price for these dishes by an extra $5.00 from what is shown on their website. We left as quickly as we could, and the best part of the evening was some left over quiche we had at home. An e-mail, followed by a letter, resulted in the owner/manager expressing his disappointment that we did not enjoy our dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
1 review
“An expert in offering a quality fine dining experience.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have been taking my wife and children out for dinner to the finest restaurants in York region for several years. I have experienced them all only to learn after taking them to Villa Risi over give dozen times that you can not have a more enjoyable dining experience than with Peter and his superb team. From food quality to ambiance, from service and plentiful meals, a discerning palate truly can't compare the authentic and fine Italian experience. I'm sure that no establishment has a perfect score but Villa Risi, I can truly say has never disappointed my family and I would be surprised to hear that any discerning guests (other than the small percentage of those impossible to please) have had anything but a top ten experience.

B. MacRae

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An old stand by, still good after all these years”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have not been back to this place for years but when we were looking for a place for the company Christmas dinner we decided this was to be the place. They have live entertainment and a dance floor, a perfect setting for a large group having dinner. We were not disappointed in the food or service, Paul the owner, still supervises the efficient staff the same as he has done for all these years. Every one at the table was happy with their dinner, obviously all their pasta dishes were done perfectly as were all our other choices. I can heartily recommend this place to any one looking for an evening out, the entertainment is low key and great for dancing too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reece V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
“Superb !”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant. I lived in Newmarket for over 25 years and used to think I had to go downtown to enjoy superb food and to have a great time. Not anymore! I went to Villa Risi last weekend and couldnt be more than satisfied. The food was fantastic. I especially enjoyed the Veal Duxelle ..you gotta try this dish!! My partner had the Gnocchi ..out of this world !! so so good ! The service was excellent. The server was upbeat, and smiling all the time, very attentive but not intrusive. The decor was so beautiful and unique. They had an amazing piano player and wonderful singer. A good size dance floor too.Their wine list is extensive and the price range is varied so you have a lot of choices. We felt pampered, well fed, and entertained. What more can you ask for! We love this place !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Risi also viewed

 
Newmarket, Ontario
 

Been to Villa Risi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing