We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dinner!”
Review of The Goulash House

The Goulash House
Ranked #3 of 284 Restaurants in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mostly Hungarian and German dishes from fresh ingredients only, made in house by a master chef of 40 yrs.Warm and welcoming service, cozy decor. Restaurant and Bar with an outdoor patio serving great cocktails, mostly German and Check beers, and a good selections of Hungarian Wines.Open 7 Days a week
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I went here on Friday night and enjoyed both the atmosphere and the food. We a nice corner table and we took our time enjoying some wine and a great meal. We had the Jager Schnitzel & the Goulash dinners as mains, but our favorite was the excellant bean soup we shared to start. Our server was attentive but not intrusive. A lovely place to go for a date.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    105
    29
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious Food!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I have visited this restaurant a few times now and each time it never disappoints! The service is very good, the food is delicious and the restaurant is quaint. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a hearty meal and good value. Happy to see they have added a kids option to the menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was great”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went on a Friday night with a reservation, didn't have to wait too long. Food was delicious, service was great. Will definitely go back again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFools2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had an excellent meal with friends. Caesar salad was outstanding. Jaeger schnitzel was amazing. Best meal I have had in a while. Truly memorable. One note. Music was WAY too loud.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hmgranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Delicious, authentic cuisine and very friendly staff. My father literally had a tear in his eye when first tasting his meal, reminded him of his mother’s cooking growing up.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goulash House also viewed

 

Been to The Goulash House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing