We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Servings!”
Review of The Goulash House

The Goulash House
Ranked #3 of 287 Restaurants in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mostly Hungarian and German dishes from fresh ingredients only, made in house by a master chef of 40 yrs.Warm and welcoming service, cozy decor. Restaurant and Bar with an outdoor patio serving great cocktails, mostly German and Check beers, and a good selections of Hungarian Wines.Open 7 Days a week
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge Servings!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food is well prepared and schnitzel fans can rejoice at the selection. The decor is stylish and comfortable and the service is friendly and quick.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    106
    29
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is a small place and very comfortable, excellent service, hot and delicious food. You always get a good plate full that is very tasty. Reservations are suggested.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This quaint restaurant may be one of the best finds in the area for authentic Hungarian dishes. The food selection is quite extensive & the staff are always delighted to help the customer understand what ingredients are in any dish. They also are excellent at explaining terms that are familiar in their culture but may not be in another culture. The food is always hot coming out of their kitchen which is something that I certainly appreciate. The staff are very attentive and engaging but are respectful not to interrupt when their guests appear entrenched in conversation. The atmosphere is old world charm & for those who enjoy people watching, there are two tables nestled in their front bay windows overlooking Main Street. I've been to this restaurant a few times now & every experience has been a positive one. Great food, awesome people who own &/or work there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensville, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I love schnitzle!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love schnitzle and red cabbage. I've been here twice now for lunch and have plans to meet friends here again this week. The cabbage rolls are pretty good too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't Lie To Your Customers”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went for a friends birthday and reserved the front table in advance. We arrived 15 minutes early and surprise, table already given away.
They said they tried to confirm the reservation but were unable to. That did not happen.
They gave us another table 20 minutes later and hovered over us throughout our dinner. Not appreciated.
It took quite a while for the food to arrive and was bland at best.
The free desert that was offered was terrible.
Hope the service improves or you will clearly join the ranks of restaurants that just don't get it.
Reviews and social media are a powerful thing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank picardthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUDIT s, Owner at The Goulash House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear sir!
We don't lie to our costumers...We make mistakes Im sure, but the definition of lie is something completely different.
If you arrived 15 min. early ,chances are great that the previous table was still enjoying their dinner.
We never promise the window seat for sure,but we do our best to give you the required table.
I havent told anyone yet that I couldn't confirm a reservation.Simply because if you don't have a confirmed reservation, you don't have a reservation.
Our home made food and cakes might not be your taste, but Im glad to differ with about 20.000 happy costumers.
Yes, social media is a powerful thing.
Sincerely
Judit Szamosszegi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goulash House also viewed

 

Been to The Goulash House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing