We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I reserved a room for 2 nights for my family, booking in on Fri.June 15th and leaving on Sun.June 17 th.2012. On booking in I spoke to a young lady and advised her that I had found another hotel with the same amenities as this room at a lower rate. I understand that there was a lowest price guarantee. On speaking to the receptionist she started by saying the other hotel was lower class,it was not as clean as this one etc etc etc.Any excuse. It was funny because I had not told her the name of the other hotel. It was quite obvious that she was not listening and was not about to listen so
rather than getting into an argument I dropped it. I must say I was disappointed with this type of reception at such a large chain of hotels. I have stayed with Holiday Inn hotels in the past and never received this type of reception.It definitely put a damper on my weekend.
Please advise when received.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank LarryBrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear LarryBrown_12,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience. I am sorry you received unsatisfactory service from the Receptionist and for the negative impact it might have caused you. Your comments are very important to us so we can take necessary steps to improve on guest satisfaction.

I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Easy checkin. Reserved a suite. Room floor is dirty. shower is broken. fireplace is missing. Disappointed in Newmarket.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheTFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I personally would like to apologize on behalf of our management for your unhappy stay. We truly wish you would have mentioned these issues during your stay with us and our well trained hotel staff would have been more than happy to resolve them. Secondly, we are in the process of installing natural gas fireplaces in all the jacuzzi suites instead of the electric ones. This procedure takes a bit long, but it is expected to complete installation within the next few days. With all our sincere apologies, once again, we hope that you can give us another opportunity to make your next stay a better one!

Thank you & Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We arrived on Friday May 11 to a warm greeting from the front desk staff. After confirming additional reservations and special requests we made for family arriving the following day, we went to our room 427 at the end of the hall. It was away from the elevetor and icemachine. We had a large clean room with King bed. We slept well in it, not too hard not too soft. It met our high expectations. The very minor issues we had with the room was bathroom vent fan was kind loud when in use. The minbar fridge seemed a little loud. The wifi signal was very weak in our room. All of these were no big deal for us.

The breakfast area was nice and clean. The food was tasty and very convenient. We were told by our family that the pool was quite cold. The kids could only be in there for about 15-20 minutes at a time.

We feel we received very good and friendly service and would stay here again next time we visit Newmarket.

Room Tip: KIf you absolutely need wifi, request a room near the center of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smrtcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are greatly humbled by your generous review! It is our goal to make sure all our hotel guests have a comfortable stay. Thank you for mentioning the issues you faced during your stay with us, and we are in the process of replacing all noisy fans from the entire building. Our WIFI is very strong, but we have still forwarded your concern about the weak WIFI signal to our internet provider and very soon this issue will be resolved too. By providing us with your feedback we can improvise and produce better service to all our hotel guests. So, once again, thank you very much and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I was a member of a blind bowling team visiting Newmarket for a provincial tournament. We stayed at the Holiday Inn, since it was only a kilometer from the bowling alley.
First, the room. I had trouble using the remote control, (but my roommate mastered it, so it's probably OK.) Other than that, it was clean, confortable, and far enough from the road to be quiet.
The hotel had no restaurant, but there were a whole variety nearby, including a Chinese restaurant and a Cousins restaurant in the next building. Breakfast was complimentary, and varied. (They even had Raisin Bran. :-) ) Other than that, there were eggs, ham, yogurt, fruit, pancakes, muffins,... Many of the group couldn't stop complimenting the hotel's complimentary breakfast choice. And the staff, too: when the orange juice dispenser was dispensing more water than juice, they came to repair it almost immediately.
The only negative: the hot tub was broken, and the pool's water was cold. Other than that, high marks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giannifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate for you to take out time to write a review about our hotel. One of the amenities at the Holiday Inn Express hotel include daily hot continental breakfast for hotel guests and we are glad you and your group enjoyed the buffet. Our next door restaurants have been getting numerous compliments from our other hotel guests too. We have gone ahead and repaired the hot tub and it is in good working condition now. As for the pool water, we have to make sure to keep it at a certain temperature in accordance with the outside weather. We do hope you chose our hotel for all your future stays please continue to tell us of any issues you have during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suties Newmarket....we will be more than happy to try to solve and make your stay as comfortable as possible!

Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good Hotel, large, clean, comfortable,quiet room with all amenities including a refrigerator. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a good sized indoor pool which unfortunately we did not have time to use, despite staying two nights. Newmarket is a very nice town especially in the historic district. We ate dinner both nights at Cousins across the street from the hotel and it was exceptionally good, home made fresh food and reasonably priced. However, they close at 8pm so get there early.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking our some time and letting us know how we have been doing in serving our hotel guests. Our main focus is to have happy guests like you and to make your stay as comfortable as we can. We are glad we could achieve your expectations and hope that you will chose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newmarket for all your future stays!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Great About This Hotel:
- Internet and parking is included in the pricing you book/reserve.
- It is clean and new, the lobby has a nice fireplace and they have 24/7 coffee/tea for free
- The day staff were superior
- You earn points

The Not so Great
- The included breakfast isn't that fresh or great. I've had other breakfasts under this banner and been much more impressed. The healthy/hot options were less than par and the other options were minimal. Good pastries and tea/coffee though... and lots of juice/yogort.

Room Tip: Use this hotel if you are out in the daytime or if you are recovering from surgery at Southlake Hosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karenna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Karenna_11,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.I am happy to hear you enjoyed yor over all experience with us. I'm sorry the breakfast was not satisfactory to you. However I appreciate that you have provided us with valuable feedback so that we may improve. Best wishes for future travels.

Katie J
IHGcare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

When dealing with sport teams, there are many changes especially last minute that are required. The group coordinator was very professional and accommodating. Rooms were very clean, check in effortless. However, what will make me book rooms here again was the thoughtfulness of the staff. Upon our return from a late game our 13 - 14 year old boys went swimming. The staff gave them plenty of time to finish up and brought in extra towels. Free breakfast also allowed everyone to get together in the morning before their next game. Will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are glad to have made your team's stay a pleasurable one. Our staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newmarket strive to make all our guests feel at comfort. Thank you very much for writing a review for our hotel and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
177 reviews
Newmarket Inn
#3 of 4 in Newmarket
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Richmond Hill
#5 of 7 in Richmond Hill
315 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket

Address: 100 Pony Dr, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 7B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Newmarket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $99 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Newest Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in the heart of Newmarket Business Area, with major Highways like Hwy 404 and Hwy 400 just minutes away. Whether the reason be to get away from home or to relax in a quiet atmosphere, the Holiday Inn Express will give you the comfort you are looking for. With our complimentary Hot Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Whirlpool, wired & wireless Hi-Speed Internet, Fitness Room, Busniess Center and many other amenities that will make your stay a memoriable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newmarket
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing